Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians can provide instruction on a variety of topics during research instruction session(s). Some of the areas we regularly address are listed here. Please feel free to suggest others. Note that all of these cannot be covered in one session!
Research concepts and ethics
- What is research? The research process, the value of iteration, the role of research, etc.
- Ethics of the discipline (the ethical conduct of research)
Sources and citation
- Evaluating sources; distinguishing between scholarly, peer-reviewed, and popular sources
- Formats and types: literature reviews and how to find them, primary and secondary sources, focus on specific formats--newspapers, journals, books, book reviews, etc.
- Citation assistance and using citation managers, including RefWorks, EndNote, etc.
Search strategies and techniques
- Refining a topic, topic mapping
- Search techniques and strategies, using keywords, generating synonyms
- Searching Articles & Books, the UR Catalog, specific databases, Google Scholar, etc.
Library services and spaces
- Interlibrary Loan (what it is, what to expect, signing up)
- Library tours
- Finding items in the stacks
Working with you
- Share successful strategies that we've developed
- Meet with you or email to develop library or in-class sessions
- Help to create pre-session or follow-up assignments
- Send you relevant sources related to the class topic
- Solicit and answer students’ library and research-related questions
- Help you to incorporate different media into the class or assignments
- Showcase your students' work in the library through displays and presentations
- Review students’ bibliographies as part of an assignment
- Collaborate with you on assessing student learning
Working with your class
- Visit your class once or multiple times
- Hold individual consultations with students about their topics
- Be embedded in your course, engaging with students through your Blackboard site, chat, or other preferred spaces
- Find, provide, or create instructional tutorials
- Provide hands-on, active learning experiences, including pre-class assignments and flipped classroom activities
- Attend student presentations to support their efforts and to better inform our practices
Working with other libraries and collections
Additional specialized collections might be a focus for your classes, including Rare Books and Special Collections, Robbins (medieval studies), Miner (medical), Sibley (music). Librarians and specialists in each can work with students in various ways. For example:
Rare Books and Special Collections
- Visit the department, to learn about rare and unique primary sources, and how to conduct research with special collections
- Discuss book history, manuscript studies or archival practices and how they relate to the subject of your class
- Register your students in order to come back on their own to conduct future research
- Tour exhibits of special collections
Connect with us
Book an appointment with your subject librarian