It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHE 150 Introduction to Sustainable Energy
Resources to support students taking CHE 150 Introduction to Sustainable Energy
(Print) Students explore present and future energy needs as well as options for continued use of fossil fuels and alternative energy sources with Dunlap's SUSTAINABLE ENERGY, 2nd Edition. Individual chapters thoroughly investigate each energy approach including current energy production and future strategies. The text emphasizes the complexity of energy issues and the need for a multidisciplinary approach to solve today's energy problems.
The first edition is also available in case the 2nd is checked out and your need is urgent.
(Print) SUSTAINABLE ENERGY focuses directly on energy related issues and includes a thorough treatment of all potentially viable energy sources. In most cases, individual chapters are devoted to each alternative energy approach. Although author Richard Dunlap covers past and current energy production methods, the text deals largely with future alternative energy strategies and follows the guidelines of ABET, the major engineering accreditation body. The book approaches these topics on a rigorous level -- familiarity with the basic concepts of freshman Physics and Chemistry is needed. The book contains enough material for a typical one semester course. The end-of-chapter problems are predominantly quantitative in nature. However, most are not straight forward calculations based on substituting values from the chapter in to the appropriate formula. The problems are designed to require the students to analyze information, to make use of material from previous chapters, to correlate data from various sources (not only from the textbook itself but from library, internet or other sources) and in many cases to estimate quantities based on interpretation of graphical data, interpolation of values and sometime just plain common sense. While maintaining a quantitative approach to the study of energy in our society, the text and accompanying problems show that this is a complex and very interdisciplinary topic. This approach is intended to provide students with an appreciation for the real problems that are encountered in the understanding of how we produce and use energy, and the realization that, while exact calculations are important and necessary, a broadly based analysis is often most appropriate.
UR Catalog Search (using Articles, Books & More)
Use the Catalog Search in Articles, Books & More to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles & Books for searching for article authors and titles.
Science encyclopedia articles, definitions, biographies, study guides and graphics.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.
The book presents fundamental principles and cutting-edge technologies for sustainably harnessing this vital resource. Sections on photovoltaics, solar thermal energy, and solar radiation provide a comprehensive introduction for those new to these fields, as well as new insights for advanced researchers and industry experts.
In recent years our usage and understanding of different types of energy has grown at a tremendous rate. The Encyclopedia will provide easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.
The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology introduces a large number of terms, devices and processes which are related to the multi-disciplinary field of Nanotechnology. For each entry in this 4 volume set, a 4-10 page description is provided by an expert in the field.
Identifies scholarly and general interest articles, books, and government reports on the effects humans have on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.
Comprised of three databases that can be searched separately or in combination: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1973-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1973-current).