It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Digital Media Studies: Articles
A guide to articles, books, databases, and other resources applicable to digital media studies available to the University of Rochester community
Because digital media studies includes a variety of disciplines - media theory, history, philosophy, journalism, television, radio, electronic media (including the Internet and video games), politics, public policy, intellectual property, copyright law, and so on - no single resource (or call number in the Stacks) will encompass every facet under its umbrella. If there's something you need that you haven't found on this guide, contact me for a research consultation!
Identifies articles, conference proceedings and book chapters in engineering and computer science, many with links to full text.
Focuses on a wide range of topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies. Global coverage with publications from North America, Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America.
ProQuest ResearchThis link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowFor off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Wilson OmniFileThis link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.
Citation Tracking: Finding articles by citation
Once you have one (or more) useful article on a topic, use the references at the end of article to find more sources on your topic using our Citation Search tool. This helps you see what was written previous to your current article, often called citing backward.
Use Google Scholar to see who has cited your article after it was published. This helps you see what has been written after your article was published, citing forward.
When you're looking at an article on a publishers webpage (like the ones you often land on when searching Google Scholar), this extension checks to see if UR has access to the article through on of our databases so you can quickly open the full-text/pdf. See
Libkey Nomad help pages for more info.
A visual tool to help researchers find research on a topic or other papers cited by or closely connected to what you've already found. Search by topic, title of a paper you've already found, by DOI or by paper urls from archives like PubMed, Semantic Scholar, or arXiv.
Ask yourself what type of source is more likely to have the information you need and how will I use this source?:
Scholarly journal articles?
Data and statistics?
Deciding the most likely source will help determine which database to use. Different databases are composed of information from different types of sources. BEAM is a method for helping you decide how you might use a source.
Ask yourself if the database you select provides full-text, or only citations and /or abstracts:
If the database you need to use does not have full-text, use the or buttons.