HathiTrust at the University of Rochester

You can save permanent links to a full view volume in HathiTrust and to a specific page. These links can be shared and placed in documents, webpages, etc.

• Link to a volume
  • In the full view pane, make sure you are in the page view you want:  scroll view , flip view , or page-by-page view .
  • On the left in the Share section, copy the link under "Permanent link to this book."
  • Hint:  you may need to scroll on the left to view all of the Share section.
  • Example: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/loc.ark:/13960/t7hq4593p
  • Hint:  often the link goes to the title page or table of contents of the volume, not the very first page (which might be the cover). To link to any other page, including the cover, use the instructions for linking to a specific page.
• Link to a specific page
  • In the full view pane, make sure you are in the page view you want:  scroll view , flip view , or page-by-page view .
  • Navigate to the page that you want to link to.
  • On the left in the Share section, click "Link to this page."
  • Hint:  you may need to scroll on the left to view all of the Share section.
  • Copy the link that appears.
  • Example:  http://hdl.handle.net/2027/loc.ark:/13960/t7hq4593p?urlappend=%3Bseq=86
  • Hint:  it is not possible to create a link to a range of pages. However, you can link to the first page in a range, such as the first page of a chapter.

Collections are a way to gather specific volumes in HathiTrust for focused searching and sharing. Anyone at the University of Rochester can log in to create a collection and make it public or private. Public collections can be accessed by anyone; a private collection is accessible only by the person who created it.

• Reasons you might want to create a collection
  • Gather works of a specific author, time period, or subject.
  • Create reserve lists for specific courses.
  • Compare different editions or translations of the same work.
• Creating a new collection
  • Log in from the HathiTrust home page with your UR NetID and password.
  • Click “Collections” or “My Collections” at the top of the page.
  • Click “Create a New Collection.”
  • Give your collection a name and description (optional) and click “Add.”
• Adding items to a collection
  • Make sure you are logged in to HathiTrust.
  • Do a search using the full-text search box.
  • In search results, check boxes next to items you want or “Select all on page” in the grey bar.
  • In the "Select Collection" box, choose your collection and click "Add Selected."
  • Hint:  you can only select and add items page-by-page in search results.
• Adding a single item to a collection from the full view pane
  • Make sure you are logged in to HathiTrust.
  • In the left panel, click "Select Collection" and choose your collection.
  • Click "Add."

Find out more from HathiTrust Help about building collections.

View public collections created by others.

You can embed a HathiTrust full view volume on a website or blog, so that others may view the contents without leaving your page.

• In HathiTrust, find the full view volume that you want to embed and open it in the full view pane.
• To the left of the pane, in the Share section, click the link for "Embed this book."
• Hint:  you may need to scroll on the left to view all of the Share section.
• A popup displays code with a choice of views to copy and paste into the HTML of your webpage or blog.

Below is an embedded book in Scroll View. Click the white triangle at the lower left of the viewer to access viewer controls.

Find out more about embedding books and customizing the HTML code at Embedding HathiTrust Books.

It is possible to add a variety of HathiTrust search boxes to your Web page or blog. Find out more at http://www.hathitrust.org/widgets

University of Rochester users with print disabilities can receive an accessible scanned PDF of in-copyright materials in HathiTrust.  To be eligible for this service you must be an affiliated user at the University of Rochester who has a print disability for which access to digital copies of library books is a reasonable and appropriate accommodation. Eligible students and employees will be certified by Lynett Van Slyke, the University's Director of Disability Compliance.

To request a scanned in-copyright book, send the title, author, year of publication, and any other important identifying information to Stephen O’Connor (soconnor@library.rochester.edu). He will then make the accessible PDF available to you.

Important information about scanned books

• These books are still in copyright
• Only patrons with print disabilities are eligible for this service
• The cover sheet indicating the copyright status of the work must remain part of the PDF
• The PDF provided is for your personal use and cannot be shared with anyone else
• Any questions about use of the PDF should be sent to Stephen O’Connor.

Access to Out-of-Print and Brittle or Missing Items

HathiTrust News and Publications