Lara Nicosia is the liaison librarian for African and African American Studies, History, and Religion & Classics and she is always happy to help!
This guide is designed to help you get started with your research for this class. The River Campus Libraries provides access to a robust collection of history-related print resources and online databases, including many collections of primary source materials.
If you have questions as you begin your research, please feel free to reach out to me, Lara Nicosia (lara.nicosia@rochester.edu) – I'm the Liaison Librarian for History and I'm always happy to help!
Want to meet with me on Zoom? Watch this quick video (runtime: 1:35) to see how to put time on my calendar.
Books are essential resources when conducting research in humanistic fields such as history and religion and classics. The River Campus Libraries provide immediate access to over one million titles including both print and electronic books. Need something not in UR's collection? You can use interlibrary loan (a free service!) to get access to any titles that you need.
One of the best places to find books on your topic is through the library's website. To get started, visit the library's homepage and click "Advanced Search." From the Advanced Search screen, choose "Library Catalog" - this will limit your search to UR's large collection of books and e-books (along with related media). Try searching for the name of the disease as a subject using the dropdown options. You may also want to add history as a subject in the second box.
Here are some searches to get you started!
The University of Rochester provides access to a wide array of databases including many focused on history. The databases listed below represent some of the most commonly used tools for history research and serve as a good starting point for almost any topic or research question. If you need help searching in any of these databases, remember you can always reach out to a librarian!
