Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Horticulture Resources: Start Here

This guide will help you navigate the horticulture collections in the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP)
Images from RBSCP's collections

Special Collections Curators

Contact one of the curators below for questions in their areas of expertise.

Autumn Haag, Assistant Director​

  • 19th Century Social Justice and Activism
  • African American History and Culture
  • Religion
  • Rochester and Monroe County History
  • Women’s History
  • Political Collections - William Henry Seward, Thurlow Weed, Kenneth Keating, Thomas E. Dewey, and Midge Costanza

Jessica Lacher-Feldman, Exhibitions and Special Projects Manager

  • 20th and 21st Century Literature and Literary Collections
  • 20th and 21st Century Social Justice and Activism
  • AIDS Education
  • LGBTQI History
  • Political Collections – Louise Slaughter
  • Theatre

Melissa S. Mead, John M. and Barbara Keil University Archivist and Rochester Collections Librarian

  • Geography and Maps
  • Science
  • University History

Andrea Reithmayr, Special Collections Librarian for Research and Collections

  • 18th and 19th Century Literature and Literary Collections
  • Architecture
  • Art
  • Bibliographic or Book History (incl. Bindings)
  • Children’s Books/Literature
  • Horticulture
  • Kodak
  • Photography
  • Spiritualism

Anna Siebach-Larsen, Director, Rossell Hope Robbins Library and Koller-Collins Center for English Studies

  • Early Modern Collections (1500-1700)
  • Medieval Collections

About Special Collections

The Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP) holds the University's rare and unique materials and collections, including the University Archives. The department features rotating exhibits and hosts classes, workshops, and lectures throughout the year. While our collections must be used on-site, we are open to the public and welcome everyone. The librarians and archivists in RBSCP are available to answer your questions and assist as you start your research project.

Phone: 585-275-4477

General Email: rarebks@library.rochester.edu

Library Hours: By appointment only

Using our collections

All researchers must contact us by email or telephone before visiting, as an appointment is required to use the collections. All researchers will be asked to fill out a registration form (see above) beforehand or in-person and provide valid photo identification (such as UR ID or a driver's license). 

RBSCP has over 500 manuscript collections that are described in online finding aids. Each entry gives basic descriptive information about the subject and material in the collection, the size of the collection, and its provenance (how it came to RBSCP). Finding aids contain a short description of the collection and, in some cases, a box-by-box or folder-by-folder listing of its contents.

Printed material -- books, maps, newspapers, journals -- is represented by author, title, and subject entries in the library's catalog. RBSCP also has a very strong collection of local history (Rochester and Western New York) materials and is the home of the University Archives. 

Before visiting us, please note the following Reading Room Policies & Procedures:

● All users must register and provide a current, valid ID: UR /other academic institution ID, employee ID, driver’s license, or passport. Registrations are valid for one academic year (September-August).

 

Read more...

Special Collections Librarian for Research & Collections