Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Horticulture Resources: Archival Material

This guide will help you navigate the horticulture collections in the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP)
Photo of a handwritten letter

Searching for Archival Material

Archival material includes unpublished records such as letters, diaries, financial records, and photographs. Information about our archival collections may be found online in the Subject Guide to the Collections. You can also browse the A-Z list of archival collections (the link is below). Our finding aids are processed at different levels. Some include item-by-item level descriptions and others are processed at the folder or box level. 

Archival Horticultural Collections

RBSCP holds and collects materials directly related to Rochester’s “Flower City” heritage and legacy and to the area’s network of seedsmen, nurseries, and other agricultural improvers.  Many of these businesses, especially the nurseries, were foundational to growing early Rochester’s economy and literally shaped the landscape of the city.  Materials including business records and correspondence, published catalogs and books, drawings and photographs document the interaction of nature, business, and culture in 19th century America and changes in humans’ approach to nature/landscape. Key botanical and horticultural books and periodicals from the 16th century to 20th century and the works of local landscape architects are also held.  

Along with various account books and correspondence throughout the collection, horticultural subject matter and its cultural, ecological, and sometimes economic importance are featured in: Garden Club of The Women's Club of The University of Rochester

Links to Finding Aids

Assistant Director, Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation

Profile Photo
Autumn Haag

Areas of Expertise

  • 19th Century Social Justice and Activism
  • Black History and Culture
  • Rochester and Monroe County History
  • Women’s History
  • Political Collections - William Henry Seward, Thurlow Weed, and Midge Costanza
Contact:
Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation
Rush Rhees Library
Room 225
755 Library Road
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9327
Website