Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Literature Resources: Start Here

This guide will help you navigate the Literature collections in the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP)

Cover Image

Images from RBSCP's collections

Special Collections Curators

Contact one of the curators below for questions in their areas of expertise.

Autumn Haag, Assistant Director​

  • Architecture
  • Art
  • Black History and Culture
  • Horticulture
  • LGBTQI+ Resources
  • Political History
  • Rochester and Monroe County Resources
  • Social Justice and Activism
  • Women’s History

Erin Fisher, Special Collections Librarian

  • Literature, including Bibliographic and Book History (incl. Bindings) and Children’s Literature
  • Religion, including Spiritualism
  • Science, including Kodak

Jessica Lacher-Feldman, Exhibitions and Special Projects Manager

  • HIV/AIDS Education
  • Theater

Melissa S. Mead, John M. and Barbara Keil University Archivist and Rochester Collections Librarian

  • University History

Anna Siebach-Larsen, Director, Rossell Hope Robbins Library and Koller-Collins Center for English Studies

  • Early Modern Collections (1500-1700)
  • Medieval Collections

About Special Collections

The Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP) holds the University's rare and unique materials and collections, including the University Archives. The department features rotating exhibits and hosts classes, workshops, and lectures throughout the year. While our collections must be used on-site, we are open to the public and welcome everyone. The librarians and archivists in RBSCP are available to answer your questions and assist as you start your research project.

Phone: 585-275-4477

General Email: rarebks@library.rochester.edu

Library Hours: By appointment only

Using our collections

Although it is not required, we suggest that researchers contact us and register as a researcher prior to their visit. All researchers will be asked to fill out a registration form beforehand or in person and provide valid photo identification (such as UR ID or a driver's license). 

RBSCP has over 500 manuscript collections that are described in online finding aids. Each entry gives basic descriptive information about the subject and material in the collection, the size of the collection, and its provenance (how it came to RBSCP). Finding aids contain a short description of the collection and, in some cases, a box-by-box or folder-by-folder listing of its contents.

Printed material -- books, maps, newspapers, journals -- is represented by author, title, and subject entries in the library's catalog. RBSCP also has a very strong collection of local history (Rochester and Western New York) materials and is the home of the University Archives. 

Before visiting us, please note the following Reading Room Policies & Procedures:

● Researchers are required to fill out an online Registration Form before they use collection material. This can be filled out before their visit or when they arrive in the department. Registrations are valid for one academic year (September-August).

● All users must provide a current, valid ID: UR ID, driver’s or non-driver’s license, or passport.

 

Read more...

Special Collections Librarian, RBSCP

Profile Photo
Erin Fisher
She/ Her/ Hers

Areas of Expertise

  • 18th and 19th Century Literature Collections
  • Children's Books/Literature
  • Technology and Science
  • Photography
  • Kodak
  • Religion
  • Spiritualism
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library
755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627
585-274-0459