Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Rochester and Monroe County Resources: Genealogical Resources

This guide will help you navigate the Rochester and Monroe County collections in the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP)
Image of Queen Victoria

Genealogical Resources

Researchers interested in doing genealogical research in our collections should start by Contacting Us. Our staff can help direct you to the best collections and published material for your research.

Genealogy researchers can approach our collections from a variety of angles. Any collection has the possibility of containing genealogical information useful to someone. Political collections such as the papers of William Henry Seward, Thomas Dewey, and Mary Anne Krupsak contain correspondence from constituents and staff. Suffrage and abolition-related collections like Susan B. Anthony, Frederick Douglass, and Isaac and Amy Post contain correspondence to, from, and about Rochester families.

Local churches and business company collections, both manuscript and published, may have material relevant to genealogists. Our individual manuscript volumes hold diaries and journals by individuals who left very little other written historical record.

RBSCP also holds archival records for several 19th and 20th-century charitable institutions which provided care for children in the Rochester, NY area (listed below). There are gaps in the admissions entries and these should not be considered a complete and exhaustive record.

  • Hillside Children’s Center papers (1837-2001)

  • The Jewish Children's Home papers (1914-1949)

  • Northaven, Inc. papers (1985-1976)

  • Rochester Friendly Home papers (1849-1943)

The Monroe County Library Genealogy site lists additional genealogy resources and for further information about genealogical research in Rochester and Monroe County, you may wish to contact the Monroe County Library genealogist specialist.

Assistant Director, Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation

Profile Photo
Autumn Haag

Areas of Expertise

  • 19th Century Social Justice and Activism
  • Black History and Culture
  • Rochester and Monroe County History
  • Women’s History
  • Political Collections - William Henry Seward, Thurlow Weed, and Midge Costanza
Contact:
Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation
Rush Rhees Library
Room 225
755 Library Road
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9327
Website