Evidence synthesis methods require researchers to search multiple databases, and not all databases accept the same search syntax. Though there are often some similarities in functionality, many databases require the use of specialized search functionality. Therefore, your search strategy must be "translated" between databases. This is especially true for databases from different providers. A search in Clarivate's Web of Science will likely look different in APA PsycINFO via ProQuest, for example.
Most database providers include information about a database's preferred syntax and various search features in a help file, usually linked from the left side or the top of the main search page in the database. For example, many EBSCO databases have a "Research Tools" section on the left side of the search page and the help file listed there provides tips on various aspects of searching the database. Many ProQuest databases link to the help file via a question mark icon at the top of the search page.
Constructing a search strategy and translating the search for multiple databases is usually considered part of the authorship process for an evidence synthesis project. However, librarians can assist you with questions about database search syntax.
Embase provides a Query Translator that translates PubMed searches to Embase syntax (see the link in the top menu bar):
Some databases or other search tools cannot handle complex searches, requiring the researcher to distill the search to its basic components that all fit on one line and minimize the use of specialized syntax. This simplification of your search may be necessary when you start looking for grey literature on the open web or in specialized repositories, for example. In addition, searching some sources (e.g., Google Scholar or specialized repositories) with all the terms from the main database search strategy sometimes returns far too many results to screen.
The recommended method of simplifying a search strategy is to combine a few of the most important terms from each key concept of your research question. For example:
Research Question: What is the effectiveness of Vitamin B12 supplements in reducing morbidity in pregnant women with HIV infection?
Key Concept 1 distilled terms: B12, B 12, cobalamin
Key Concept 2 distilled terms: pregnancy/pregnant, gestate/gestation/gestational
Key Concept 3 distilled terms: HIV, human immunodeficiency virus
Distilled & simplified search strategy: (B12 OR "B 12" OR cobalamin) AND (pregnan* OR gestat*) AND (HIV OR "human immunodeficiency virus")
Note that the simplified search utilizes parentheses to keep concepts together, Boolean logic (AND, OR), and asterisks for truncation. (See Step 5: Write a Search Strategy for information about these techniques.) In some searches, you might need to further simplify the syntax by spelling out the truncated terms and including variants connected by OR instead.