LibGuides: WRTG 105 Everyday Inequality: Exploring Privilege, Microagression, and Subtle Forms of Power (Coyne): Home

Finding Articles

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This database includes scholarly essays, current periodicals, historical news coverage, and more. With access to the The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, and Black Literature Index this is a great database for Black studies research.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from social science-based disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, economics, political science, and gender studies. It also includes research from history, which some consider a humanistic social science.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on sociology, education, and other social science literature - it provides a wide variety of peer-reviewed journals and books, many of which employ clear methodologies and theories to support their arguments.
Includes some links to full text.
APA PsycINFO via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The premiere database for psychology research, PsycINFO provides access to articles, books, and dissertations on a wide range of topics.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journal articles focused on education and related fields, including research on education administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy, and government funding
Includes administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy and government funding.
ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database is a great starting point for most topics. It provides full-text access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, as well as trade journals, magazines, news stories, and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more

Finding News

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database includes key national and regional news sources from throughout the U.S. including major news publications such as The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. It's a great place to find discussions and arguments around current issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the ethnic and minority press in the U.S.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
This database includes newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses such as Dissent and Solidarity's Against the Current.
Democrat and Chronicle (1999-present) This link opens in a new window
Interested in what's happening locally? You can search the entire run of the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle (the newspaper of record for Rochester, NY) from 1884-present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Consisting of key 20th century Black Newspapers from around the United States, this database provides insight into the "evolution of black identity as depicted in the press, and the unique viewpoints of a major segment of our population."
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Finding Background Information

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
This database includes online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference books and encyclopedias on a variety of subjects. It is a great starting point for most research topics.

Finding Data and Surveys

Roper Center for Public Opinion - iPOLL This link opens in a new window
Survey results, questionnaires, and possible dataset download option for an extensive collection of public opinion polls.

Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. [The Center] conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.