LibGuides: * Brain & Cognitive Sciences: Library Resources

DiscoverUR

DiscoverUR
Use DiscoverUR to explore all library resources.

DiscoverUR Search Tips
Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.

Databases

For more specific information search our databases:

Psychology

APA PsycINFO via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Provides descriptive and administrative information for psychological tests and scales, many full-text, primarily unpublished.
Most contain the actual test instrument and links to supporting materials, reviews, etc.

Biomedical

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on biomedicine, biotechnology, behavior, ecology, neuroscience, and zoology. Relatively weak in botany.
Covers the literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Topics include: Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) 1982-Current Animal Behavior Abstracts 1982-Current ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources 1971-Current ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts 1984-Current ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts 1989-Current Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 1982-Current BioEngineering Abstracts 1993-Current Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts 1982-Current Chemoreception Abstracts 1982-Current CSA Neurosciences Abstracts 1982-Current Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current Entomology Abstracts 1981-Current Genetics Abstracts 1982-Current Health and Safety Science Abstracts 1981-Current Human Genome Abstracts 1982-1995 Immunology Abstracts 1982-Current Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) 1982-Current Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current Nucleic Acids Abstracts 1982-Current Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts 1989-Current Toxicology Abstracts 1981-Current Virology and AIDS Abstracts 1982-Current
Embase This link opens in a new window
Indexes the biomedical literature on drug, medical device and disease-related research. Covers all MEDLINE journals plus 3,000 unique titles, and conference abstracts back to 1947.
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology Module This link opens in a new window
An introduction to human body systems in visual interactive chapters presented in 3D model sets, animations and illustrations; includes quizzes for assessing self-paced learning. Note that due to the image-rich nature of the resource, there will be a delay when loading Visible Body at the start. VPN required for off-campus access.

TRIP - Turning Research Into Practice
Clinical search tool for health professionals that rapidly identifies the highest quality clinical evidence

Multidisciplinary

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.

Methods & Protocols

JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
An online journal of peer-reviewed, video-based research studies, showing methodology and techniques. Journal subsets include Neuroscience, Biology and Behavior, among others.
Experiments This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text biomedical and life sciences protocols documenting experiments with step-by-step laboratory instructions, and lists of equipment and ingredients.
Comprised of five book series and two journals: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Methods in Biotechnology, Springer Protocols Handbooks.

Subject Specific

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles in education and related fields, many with links to the online full text.
Includes administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy and government funding.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books and reports in linguistics and related fields, many with links to full text.
Zoological Record Plus This link opens in a new window
Identifies books, book chapters, and journal articles in zoology.
Does not provide abstracts; however, the indexing is comprehensive and informative.

Browse Journal Articles Using BrowZine

Browse general neuroscience journals using Browzine

Browse behavioral neuroscience journals using Browzine

Browse cognition and perception journals using Browzine

Browse cognitive neuroscience journals using Browzine

Browse computational neuroscience journals using Browzine

Browse developmental neuroscience journals using Browzine

Browse developmental psychology journals using Browzine

Browzine icon BrowZine allows you to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available through University of Rochester covering all disciplines. Create an account (free) and save your favorite journals to your bookshelf for easy access!

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews provide an overview of an area of research, identify who is working in that area, and cite relevant published work.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
This database includes review articles from Annual Review of Neuroscience, Annual Review of Psychology, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed allows you to display only the review articles in your search results. After you search using your keywords, click the checkbox next to "Review" under "Article Type" on the left side of the screen.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.

* Brain & Cognitive Sciences

Social Science & STEM Librarian

Related Subject Guides

Nature Neuroscience News Feed