Writing & Citing - CHEM 234 & 234W - Advanced Laboratory Techniques

Citation Management Tools

To keep up with references and appropriately cite them in papers and bibliographies, consider one of these tools. Each will copy citations from databases into a single location that you can manage.

Zotero
A free Firefox extension with many of the same features as RefWorks and EndNote, plus other features you might find useful. To get started, see Getting Started with Zotero
Endnote Web
Simple to use web tool for storing citations. Interfaces well with Endnote Client for sharing references during Undergraduate Research.

EndNote Online for Chemists (PDF)
(PDF) Tutorial for how to transfer references from databases and create your bibliography for your paper using Endnote Online

EndNote 2025
Use this reference management tool to export and format references from databases. Learn more. If needed, download older editions of EndNote.

Mendeley
A free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research in your field. It helps for storing a large number of PDF files.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communications & ChemDraw

ACS Style Quick Guide
List of examples for current ACS style.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
(Online) Instruction and advice writers need to master the art of scholarly communication. This Guide covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints

CAS Source Index Search Tool (CASSI)
Searchable list of chemistry journal titles and abbreviations.

ChemDraw Software
(ChemDraw Professional) Draw compounds and lab glassware diagrams. Available at public computers. For tips & tricks, see the hot keys and shortcut cheat sheets in the help as well as some tutorials. All users will be required to create a NEW account. See System Requirements
Writing, Speaking, and Argument Program
Improve your writing by meeting with consultants or writing fellows.

Sample Writing to a Lay Person

Scientific American
Coverage: 1845-present
ScienceTimes

Chemistry Articles from Science Times (New York Times)*

*You can sign up for a campus provided subscription to New York Times, Wall Street Journal or Chronical to Higher Education. See the "News" Guide for more details.

* News
by Justina Elmore Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 1272 views this year

Writing Help

Writing, Speaking, and Argument Program
Improve your writing by meeting with consultants or writing fellows.