Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Public Health

Resources for students interested in public health related programs at the University of Rochester

Databases & Web Resources

Library Databases

 

 

Other relevant resources

 

Databases & Library Resources

Toxicology web resources

Natural & Built Environment Resources

Recommended resources

Other Policy Databases

Recommended resources

Other relevant resources

Finding Library Materials

Books and multimedia 
To find books on anthropology search using DiscoverUR (use Articles, Books and more to search everything accessible to UR within our library holdings and beyond or use Library Catalog to limit to only UR collections).

Or, just see what has been added to the collection:

Citation Tracking: Finding articles by citation

Once you have one (or more) useful article on a topic, use the references at the end of article to find more sources on your topic using our Citation Search tool.  This helps you see what was written previous to your current article, often called citing backward.

 

Use Google Scholar to see who has cited your article after it was published.  This helps you see what has been written after your article was published, citing forward.


 


 


 Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License by Justina Elmore, University of Rochester

Finding Grey Literature

Hierarchy of grey literature denoting the varying degrees of information control and known expertise of the author.What is grey literature?

  • Information published by entities whose main purpose is NOT publishing​. Watch this video for more info.

What is this important for public health?

  • A large amount of public health information is published as grey literature. This includes government data, information produced by foundations, NGOs, companies, schools etc.

               

Image source: Kamei, F. et al., (2020) under a CC BY 4.0 license

Quickly find grey literature by using a site search in Google   

  • Examples 1 & 2 find information on formaldehyde on all .org websites or only on ATSDR

domain search



site search

 

 

  • Examples 3 & 4: Finds information regarding mindfulness on all college/university websites or only in the Rochester City School District

minfulness site search

 


   mindfulness rscd site search

 

  • Examples 5 & 6: Finds information on cannabidiol policy on all .gov websites or specifically in New York State governmental websites.

 

Browse Public Health Journals

Browse General Public Health journals using Browzine

General PH screenshot

Browse Environmental Health journals using Browzine

Environmental Health journals

Browse Epidemiology journals using Browzine

Epidemiology journals screenshot

Browse Mental and Social Health journals using Browzine

Mental Health Journals screenshot

Ethnographies

Finding Ethnographies
Ethnographies are written, observational science which provides an account of a particular culture, society, or community based on observation of or interactions with research subjects.  Use this checklist to determine if a scholarly work is an ethnography:

✔️  Written by a trained researcher who gathered their data through participant observation, interviews, or focus groups
✔️  Published in a scholarly journal or by a scholarly press
✔️  Uses information about the culture to explain the phenomena observed in a structured, narrative way
✔️ Tells of events lived by actual individuals 
✔️  Has a time period and location

Ethnographies can be found using DiscoverUR and other anthropology resources listed on this guide.  Search terms to help narrow your search within these databases include: ethnograph* OR ethnology OR autoethnograph* OR "ethnographic fieldwork" OR anthro* OR cultur* OR "social life" OR "case stud*"   Note: Not all ethnographies will have the word ethnography in their titles or abstracts, so you won't know for sure until you've applied the criteria above.  Nor will all case studies will be ethnographies, so use the checklist above to make sure that's what you've found.

The asterisk [*] helps find multiple endings of words; ethnograph* finds you ethnography, ethnographic, ethnographer, etc.

If you’re having trouble finding ethnographies on a particular country or ethnic group, try using broader search terms (e.g. Say you are looking for research on the Pyu and haven’t found a lot, try expanding your search to Burmese OR “Burmese culture” OR Bamar). You can also add terms for the group's ethnographic region or country (e.g Myanmar OR “South* Asia*”).


Doing Ethnography
Search DiscoverUR for ethnog* research method* to find articles, books and media for best practices.