Skip to main content

* Public Health: Data Sets & Statistics

Resources for students interested in public health related programs at the University of Rochester

Local, Regional, and National Open Data

  • Roc Health Data - Contains extensive information on the region’s health challenges and resources shown in both map and report formats. Anyone can register for the site and access a number of interactive maps showing patterns of tobacco use, food insecurity, cancer incidence, etc. in the Rochester area.
  • City Health Dashboard - Provides data on 37 measures for the 500 largest U.S. cities - those with populations of about 66,000 or more – representing approximately one-third of the U.S. population. Equipped with these data, local leaders have a clearer picture of the challenges facing their communities and how to address them
  • Rural Data Explorer - Select from a wide range of data on health disparities, health workforce, demographics, and more. Explore how metropolitan and nonmetro counties compare, nationwide and by state
  • New York State Data - Provides the state's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data.
  • Data.gov - Includes data, tools, and resources on a number of topics.
  • Explore Census Data- Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data comes from several censuses and surveys. 

National Surveillance Data

Public health surveillance is the continuous, systematic collection, analysis and interpretation of health-related data needed for the planning, implementation, and evaluation of public health practice.

  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS): screening surveys that provide information on behaviors among sub-populations who may be difficult to reach through traditional household surveys 
  • CDC Wonder: provides a variety of public health surveillance data and CDC reports.
  • County Health Rankings and Roadmaps: counties in each of the 50 states are ranked according to surveillance data on health outcomes and a broad range of health factors.  The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities. 
  • National HIV Behavioral Surveillance (NHBS): behavioral surveillance among persons at high risk for HIV infection; rotating annual cycles in three different populations at high risk for HIV: men who have sex with men (MSM), injection drug users (IDUs), and heterosexuals at increased risk for HIV infection (HET)
  • National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES): studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
  • National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs:  assess the prevalence and impact of special health care needs among children in the US, and to evaluate change over time. This survey explores the extent to which children with special health care needs (CSHCN) have medical homes, adequate health insurance, access to needed services, and adequate care coordination
  • Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. PRAMS surveillance currently covers about 83% of all U.S. births
  •  Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS): monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults including:
    • Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence
    • Sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection
    • Alcohol and other drug use
    • Tobacco use
    • Unhealthy dietary behaviors
    • Inadequate physical activity
  • WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System): an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources.

 

International Statistics

Global Health Observatory -  World Health Organization's portal of health statistics covering 194 member states. Has over 1000 health indicators that are organized to show progress toward WHO's Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Statistical Databases