ED 439 Policy Analysis in Education: Orientation and Tutorials for Warner Students

Warner School - Library Orientation

 

Eileen Daly-Boas, edaly@library.rochester.edu

Phone: 585-236-4145

Library homepage: library.rochester.edu

Library Guide to Research in Education: http://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/EDU

You can find my contact info, and make appointments with me. (If you don’t see a time that works, email me and let me know.) I’ll be doing some online “tours” - check the guide to register!

What can a Librarian do for you?

• Help you find the highest quality books and articles for your research.
• Assist in brainstorming/concept mapping/focusing your research questions.
• Show you tips and tricks for efficient research - my job is to save you time!
• Introduce you the best tools for tracking your research and managing your citations.
• Help you navigate research for literature reviews and research proposals.
• Need a data-management plan? Want to manage your scholarly identity? Interested in augmented reality or virtual reality? We’ve got library staff to help.
• Be a sounding board when you’re just not sure what you need!

Your “homework:”

1. Bookmark both the library’s homepage and Guide to Research in Education
2. Sign up for Interlibrary Loan here: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/
3. Go to scholar.google.com and click on the three lines at top left - then click settings, choose “Library Links” and make sure there’s a checkmark next to “University of Rochester.” (if not, do a search for it) This will make it easy to link to full-text when it’s available.

Citing help for APA

Citation guides: For APA citation, purchasing the APA Manual is a great idea.

Best help on the web is from:

• APA Guidelines https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/index

Step-by-step guide to research using the library’s vast resources:

1.    Brainstorm: before starting to search, think of some terms and concepts related to your subject. Are there broader or more narrow related terms? Research is like batting practice - you’re going to take a few swings and miss whenever you start with a new topic.

2.    Articles & Books search box at www.library.rochester.edu is a good place to start - many ways to limit your search:

a.    Use the limiters - scholarly articles, by discipline, by year, etc.

b.    Click on the “preview” link - it will often give you a summary, so you’ll know if it’s worth getting to the full-text

c.    Try different terms, and modify your search terms as you go along.

d.    Click on the quotation mark next to the article to get a citation for your bibliography.

3.    Databases for your Subject: starting at www.library.rochester.edu use the pull-down menu to “Databases” and then search for either the specific database by name, or by subject (education, psychology, linguistics)

The best databases for Warner research by subject:

Education: Education Full Text, ERIC, ProQuest Education Journals

Psychology: PsycInfo from ProQuest

Linguistics: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

4.    Google Scholar: scholar.google.com

 Best for finding if an article has been cited in order to track a scholarly conversation.

 

Keeping track of your sources

If you’re working with a lot of sources, you might want to keep track of them.

Reference Management tools can help you keep track of your sources, and help you put your citations in your paper.

Want to create a bibliography in just a few clicks? Add citations without pulling out your hair?

Any of these Reference Managers can do that!

You only need one, and we’ve got workshops for all of them: http://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/referencemanagers

RefWorks - easy to use, lives in the cloud.

EndNote - a little trickier to use, but very powerful. Especially good if your research group/professors use it.

Mendeley - works great if you have mostly pdfs in your research.

Zotero - https://www.zotero.org/ best one to use if you use different kinds of sources: webpages, videos, images, pdfs and books. (this is Eileen’s favorite)

 

Step-by-Step short video guides to Library Services, Brainstorming and Searching 

Introduction to Library Services

Brainstorming - how to find the right terms when getting started, or when you're stuck: 

Searching using Articles, Books and More from the Library's Homepage

Using E-Books at River Campus Libraries

Setting up VPN for Chinese International Students

Graduate Student Orientation welcome from River Campus Libraries. 

https://youtu.be/Q0B3Gjlu-1o 

Get to know a little more about the library, your librarian, and the services and tools to make your research life easier!  Take a virtual tour, see if Zotero is right for you, or learn a bit about searching for the right research article, I’m here to help!

If these times don’t work for you, don’t worry! I have office hours every Tuesday and Wednesday from 4-5 and Fridays from 3-4:30 - just click the Chat Now button and I'll send you the link!

• Monday, Aug 31, 4-4:30: tour of library services, spaces and searching.
  Register: https://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/event/7004071
• Thursday, Sept 3, 3:30-4: tour of library services, spaces and searching
  Register: https://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/event/7004207
  
• Thursday, Sept 10, 4-5: tour of library services (searching and more) followed by Ask Eileen Anything!
  Register: https://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/event/7004223
   
• Monday, Sept 14, 3-4: learn Zotero – for organizing and managing your research 
  Register: https://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/event/7004276
   
• Thursday, Sept 17, 3-3:30: tour of library services (searching and more!)
  Register: https://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/event/7004288
   
• Monday, Sept 21, 4-4:40: finding research articles, in the library and beyond!
  Register: https://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/event/7004295