Getting Started: Education Resources - CASC 352 - PLTL Workshop Leader 1

Meet with a Librarian

Every librarian is here to support your research. Here are a few who work with CASC 352. Click on the librarian's name to make an appointment with them:

Dr. Ayesh: Sue Cardinal (CHEM), Arjay Romanowski (ECE, CSC), Andrea Kingston (LING)

Dr. Barone: Eloise Stevens

Dr. Frye: Arjay Romanowski (ECE, CSC)

Dr. Hammond: Sue Cardinal (CHEM), Eileen Daly-Boas (PHIL)

Dr. Trenshaw: Sue Cardinal (CHEM), Wendy Way (BIOL)

Search Discover UR

Discover UR can be a great place to start your research, get a sense of the work out there, and search multiple resources and databases at once.

Example Search 1
Link to an example search for studies from the last 10 years that consider the concept of 'growth mindset' within peer led classes.
Click "Remember all filters" on the left column and then the downward pointing arrow/"v" shape in the search bar to expand and edit the search.
Example Search 2
Example search for qualitative research on interventions around AI and Digital Literacy in STEM classes from the last two years.
Click "Remember all filters" on the left column and then the downward pointing arrow/"v" shape in the search bar to expand and edit the search.

Relevant Education Journals

Search these journals, or skim them to get a sense of recent research on the scholarship of teaching and learning. Check out the page on Discipline Specific Resources to see what education journals in your field your librarians recommend.

Review of Educational Research American Educational Research Association publishes "critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education." (from journal description)
Journal of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Teaching in Higher Education
Innovative Higher Education

Relevant Databases:

These databases can support you in searching for contemporary research on College-level Education, Educational Psychology, and related fields.

APA PsycINFO via ProQuest
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
Education Full Text
Identifies journal articles in education and related fields, many with links to the online full text.
Includes administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy and government funding.
Google Scholar
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
Dimensions
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
JSTOR
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.

Databases A-Z list
All the databases we have in the library!

Education Based Blogs and Websites

While not scholarly sources themselves, these sites can help you identify and define your topic ideas and connect them to work others are doing.