Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Annotated bibliographies differ from abstracts or summaries of articles. Annotated bibliographies are a list of sources (journal or news articles, books, websites, datasets, etc.) on a particular topic. The list is usually in alphabetical order by author and employs a single citation style. The propose of an annotated bibliography is:
- To prove you have done some valid research to back up your argument and claims
- To explain the content of your sources, assess their usefulness, and share this information with others who may be less familiar with them
Some questions to help with your analysis of a source might include:
- What’s the main point or thesis of this source?
- Does the author seem to have particular biases or are they trying to reach a particular audience?
- How does this source relate to your own research and ideas?
- How does this source relate to other sources you have read? Do they have aspects of the same argument or opposing views?
Here are a few links to help you better understand and construct an annotated bibliography.
Graphic Organizers to help you build an annotated bibliography:
Citation managers like RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero help you track and organize your citations, so that when you're writing your paper, you can easily cite your sources. Citation managers also help you insert citations, create endnotes and bibliographies.
An easy-to-use reference manager - especially if you have a lot of pdfs that you want to organize.
This is a great citation manager if you're likely to cite blogs, videos and webpages - captures the relevant information with one-click.
Style Guides in Print
Style Manual for Political Science Style Manual for Political Science published by the American Political Science Association.
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
The Bluebook by
Call Number: KF245 .B58 Rhees Stacks - Level A
Publication Date: 2015-06-25
Writing a Research Paper in Political Science by Even students capable of writing excellent essays still find their first major political science research paper an intimidating experience. Crafting the right research question, finding good sources, properly summarizing them, operationalizing concepts and designing good tests for their hypotheses, presenting and analyzing quantitative as well as qualitative data are all tough-going without a great deal of guidance and encouragement. This writing guide breaks down the research paper into its constituent parts and shows students what they need to do at each stage to successfully complete components until the paper is finished. Even writing an introduction, coming up with effective headings and titles, presenting a conclusion, and the important steps of editing and revising are covered with class-tested advice and know-how. In addition to using updated examples of student topics that pull from both American government and international relations, Baglione also includes examples of actual student writing to show readers how someone "just like them" accomplished tasks while writing their papers. Practical summaries, calendars, exercises, and a series of handy checklists make this a must-have supplement for any writing-intensive political science course.
Publication Date: 2011-08-25
Writing and Citing Help at UR
Writing and Citing Guide
Provides links to easy to use guides to citing in MLA, APA and other popular citation styles and resources to help you hone your writing skills.
Writing Help from the Writing, Speaking and Argument Center
The Writing, Speaking and Argument Center can help you at any stage of the writing process. Whether you need a quick help sheet, or an appointment with a writing consultant, there are many resources available at here.