It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Digital Media Studies: Books
A guide to articles, books, databases, and other resources applicable to digital media studies available to the University of Rochester community
Search the Voyager Catalog to find books, journals (not articles), DVDs, and videos on topics in Digital Media Studies within River Campus Libraries.
Most DVDs and videos can be checked out or viewed in the Art/Music library in Rush Rhees. To search what we have, use the keyword search on the Find DVDs and Videos page of the library's website or search for particular titles in the Voyager Catalog.
Need books or DVDs we don't own? We have a very active Interlibrary Loan Service. It is available free of charge to current River Campus students, faculty, and staff. Sign up the first time you use it, then just use your NetID and password. Most books take about a week. Most articles take 2-4 days. Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu. Check out WorldCat using the link below to see what's owned by other libraries that you might request via ILL.
Full text of encyclopedias on religion and scientific biography, including Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia.
Interlibrary Loan & Using Worldcat
If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less! If you have the citation of the item you wish to request, go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu
& log in with your NetID to request an item.
From within any of the library any databases, click the button.It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the libraries. Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Looking for books we don't have in the library? Try searching WORLDCAT (either for a title or by keywords on your topic). Click on the button to request a book through ILL.
Still can't find what you're looking for? Please contact me!
Portfolio Design Books
Design/Portfolio by Craig WelshFeaturing a curated collection of approximately 300 exquisite designs, along with essays from designers in the field about the essence and importance of a good portfolio design, "Design: Portfolio "contains mini-workshops that dissect several featured projects and highlight the effectiveness of exceptional design treatments from around the world. Designers will discover the underlying details that make each design so special. This is an exciting new addition to the informative and inspiring "Design" series by Rockport Publishers that offers the best of design in practice.
Alternative and Activist New Media by Leah LievrouwAlternative and Activist New Media provides a rich and accessible overview of the ways in which activists, artists, and citizen groups around the world use new media and information technologies to gain visibility and voice, present alternative or marginal views, share their own DIY information systems and content, and otherwise resist, talk back to, or confront dominant media culture. Today, a lively and contentious cycle of capture, cooptation, and subversion of information, content, and system design marks the relationship between the mainstream 'center' and the interactive, participatory 'edges' of media culture. Five principal forms of alternative and activist new media projects are introduced, including the characteristics that make them different from more conventional media forms and content. The book traces the historical roots of these projects in alternative media, social movements, and activist art, including analyses of key case studies and links to relevant electronic resources. Alternative and Activist New Media will be a useful addition to any course on new media and society, and essential for readers interested in new media activism.
Call Number: P95.8 .L54 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-21
Digital Media Revisited by Gunnar Liestøl (Editor); Andrew Morrison (Editor); Terje Rasmussen (Editor)Arguing that "first encounters" have already applied traditional theoretical and conceptual frameworks to digital media, the contributors to this book call for "second encounters," or a revisiting. Digital media are not only objects of analysis but also instruments for the development of innovative perspectives on both media and culture. Drawing on insights from literary theory, semiotics, philosophy, aesthetics, ethics, media studies, sociology, and education, the contributors construct new positions from which to observe digital media in fresh and meaningful ways. Throughout they explore to what extent interpretation of and experimentation with digital media can inform theory. It also asks how our understanding of digital media can contribute to our understanding of social and cultural change. The book is organized in four sections: Education and Interdisciplinarity, Design and Aesthetics, Rhetoric and Interpretation, and Social Theory and Ethics. The topics include the effects on reading of the multimodal and multisensory aspects of the digital environment, the impact of practice on the medium of theory, how digital media are dissolving the boundaries between leisure and work, and the impact of cyberspace on established ethical principles.
Call Number: HM851 .D54 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-17
Beginning Illustration and Storyboarding for Games by Les PardewCreating enticing game art can mean the difference between getting a game published or rejected. This book is ideal for many, including beginning art students who wish to learn the fundamental techniques used in creating concept art for game design and artists looking for a new challenge. Readers will learn how to create game art and design clear, concise storyboards as well as how their art is used in a game design document. This book will appeal to today's artists looking for challenging outlets for their creativity and artistic skills. Traditional artists and animators have flocked to the field of game art upon discovering that it offers exciting, rewarding, and lucrative opportunities to bring their creative vision to life through games. This book also will offer game programmers a look behind the scenes of the "other side" of game development so they can better understand how game art is created and works with their own programming code.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2004-10-08