Skip to main content

* Anthropology: Research Resources

Funding resources for students including research grants, essay competitions, travel, and more.

Anthropology Resources

Databases

  • NEW TRIAL!!   Anthropological Fieldwork Online  Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
    • Please let me know what you think of this database! We have a 30 day trial, ending March 15th, to determine if we wish to purchase a subscription. Email me at sbarrett@library.rochester.edu

 

  • SocINDEX  (EBSCO) Identifies articles, books and other resources in sociology, anthropology, education, and other social sciences
  • Social Sciences Full Text  (EBSCO) Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text
  • ‚ÄčAnthroSource  Full text electronic archive of all journals from the American Anthropological Association
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  Identifies articles, books and book chapters on Asian history, geography and culture.
  • PsycINFO  Full text literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work
  • WorldCat  Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

Streaming Video

  • Alexander Street  Streaming access to 14,000 titles; browse by fields of interest
  • Ethnographic Video Online  Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field (now part of Alexander Street database)
  • Films on Demand  Browse by subject (over 700 titles for anthropology) or search for specific topics in a database of nearly 30,000 streaming educational titles
  • Kanopy  Streaming video database with over 20,000 movie titles from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others

Browse Anthropology Journals

Browse all Anthropology journals using Browzine

Anthropology journals

Browse Social and Cultural Anthropology journals using Browzine

Cultural anthropology journals screenshot

Browse Migration & Diaspora journals using Browzine

Migration & diaspora journals

Browse Anthropology Theory & Methods journals using Browzine

Anthropology theory & methods journals screenshot

Loading ...

Finding Library Materials

Books: To find books on anthropology search using the Library Catalog (Voyager) or the Articles and Books Search

 

A list of new books on Anthropology recently added to the Library's collection can be accessed here:  New Books on Anthropology

Find Demographic Information

Outreach Librarian

Stephanie Barrett's picture
Stephanie Barrett
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me at sbarrett@library.rochester.edu.
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9299

New Anthropology Books!

Loading ...