Skip to main content

* Medieval Studies: Home

About this LibGuide

Welcome to the Medieval Studies LibGuide. This main page compiles general resources in the field, with a focus on primary text databases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies. The sub-field tabs above feature a smaller number of discipline-specific resources, databases, and websites.

Medieval Collections at the U of R

                   

Dictionaries

Latin

Old and Middle English

French

German

Greek

Italian

Spanish and Portuguese

Places to Begin: Encyclopedias, Databases & Portals

These medieval studies resources will help you find overview articles, quick facts, and definitions, as well as scholarly articles. Some of them, such as the Orbis Latinus, will help you navigate primary sources.

Online

Abbreviationes (electronic database of Latin abbreviations)

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (UR online)

Feminae (index of secondary sources for the study of medieval women)

Index of Medieval Art (database of images and information about medieval art, architecture, and material culture)

International Medieval Bibliography (UR online)

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (a wide range of secondary and primary sources)

The Labyrinth (thematically organized, with links to further online resources)

Late Medieval English Scribes (catalogue of all scribal hands which appear in the manuscripts of Chaucer, Gower, Trevisa, Langland, and Hoccleve)

Lexikon des Mittelalters (UR online; standard encyclopedia for medieval studies)

New Catholic Encyclopedia (UR online)

Orbis Latinus (Latin place names and their modern language equivalents)

Oxford Bibliographies Online (UR online)

Print

Lexikon des Mittelalters

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Text Collections

These resources feature collections of primary sources online.

Acta Sanctorum (UR online; an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels from 1643 to 1940. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. This database includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.)

Brepols Cross Database Search (UR online; includes the Library of Latin Texts, MGH, Aristoteles Latinus Database, and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature)

Corpus Corporum (displays Latin texts, primarily from the Patrologia Latina)

Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (UR online)

Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus (UR online)

Germania Sacra (comprehensive overview of the history and prosopography of German religious houses.)

Internet Medieval Sourcebook (primary sources of medieval history, all translated into English)

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (a wide range of secondary and primary sources)

Library of Latin Texts, Series A (UR online)

Library of Latin Texts, Series B (UR online)

Mirabile: Digital Archive for Medieval Latin Culture

Perseus Digital Library

PHI Classical Latin Texts

Margot (Middle and Early Modern French)

Monumenta Germaniae Historica (in German)

Patrologia Latina (UR online)

TEAMS Middle English Texts Series (METS)

 

 

 

Medieval Studies Specialist

Anna Siebach-Larsen's picture
Anna Siebach-Larsen
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.
Contact:
Rossell Hope Robbins Library and Koller-Collins Center
500 Library Road
Rochester, NY 14627
(585) 275-9197

Journals

Some of the important journals in Medieval Studies. River Campus Libraries holds many of these in both digital and print formats.

Digital Medievalist

Exemplaria

Gesta

Journal of Medieval History

Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Medium Ævum

postmedieval

Studies in Iconography

Speculum 

Studies in the Age of Chaucer