The 20th Census - 1980 - United States Census Data (1790 -2020 )

River Campus Libraries (RCL) Holdings

1980 Census of population and housing. Users' guide.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980u Summary holdings: pt.A/C
1980 census of population. Volume 1, Characteristics of the population.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980e (For Rhees Stack location) Summary holdings: ch.A:pt.27-35,ch.B:pt.34, ch.C:pt.1:ch.C:pt.34;1-2, ch.D;pt.1A-C, ch.D:pt.34; UR Library Annex 3 - use "Request This Item" HA201 1980e Summary holdings: ch.A:pt.1-26,36-57 ch.B:pt.1-33,35-57 ch.C:pt.1-55, ch.D:pt.2-33,35-57("United States Summary, change sheet" bound with ch.A:pt.1-4.)
For UR Library Annex 3 Location
UR Library Annex 3 - use "Request This Item" HA201 1980e
Summary holdings:
ch.A:pt.1-26,36-57 ch.B:pt.1-33,35-57 ch.C:pt.1-55, ch.D:pt.2-33,35-57("United States Summary, change sheet" bound with ch.A:pt.1-4.)
1980 census of population. Volume 2, Subject reports.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980k Summary holdings: 1C-1E 2A,2C 4B-4D 6C-6E 7C 8B,8D 9C
1980 census of housing. Volume 3, Subject reports.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980y Summary holdings: ch.2-6
1980 census of population. Supplementary reports.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980s Summary holdings: [v.]1-19 Item in place (0 requests) Loanable
Census of population and housing, 1980 (United States) : summary tape file 1
Call Number: UR Library Annex 1 - use "Request This Item" ICPSR 7941, etc.
1980 census of population and housing. Block statistics. Rochester, N.Y., standard metropolitan statistical area.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HD7304.R67 C4 1982 Summary holdings: "[text]" + "maps" <2 copies>
1980 Census of population and housing. Block statistics. United States summary : finder's guide to block statistics reports.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980j
1980 census of housing. Volume 2, Metropolitan housing characteristics. Rochester, N.Y.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HD7293 .C42 1983 pt.306
1980 census of population and housing. Census tracts.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980h Summary holdings: no.1, 33-34, 62, 92-93, 105-106, 145-148, 168-170, 253, 260, 262-264, 291-293, 306 346-348, 359-361
For UR Library Annex Location:
UR Library Annex 3 - use "Request This Item" HA201 1980h
Summary holdings:
[no.] 2-32, 35-60, 63-91, 94-104, 107-144, 149-167, 171-185,187-212, 214-252, 254-259, 261, 265-290, 294-305, 307-345, 349-358, 362-380
1980 census of population and housing. Census tracts. Rochester, N.Y., standard metropolitan statistical area.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980h Rochester
Maps are located at: Rhees Stacks HA201 1980h Rochester Map

Also Available:
Special Collections Folio, Rhees 225 (Non-circulating) HD7304.R67 C4 1982
Summary holdings: "maps"
Notes: Includes Census tracts map.
Census tract street index for--Rochester, New York.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA731.R67 C4 1980
1980 Census of Population Characteristics of People and Housing, Monroe County, New York
Full Text Online

General Sources for Historical Data

The 1980 Census Official Publications
NHGIS
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS), produced by the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota provides free access to historical Census information. Note: this resource requires user registration, but registration is free and immediate.

Neighborhood change database NCDB This link opens in a new window
Contains nationwide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Census Bureau data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. Contains long form census data with details such as population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. Software creates customized, exportable data and map reports. Data reports can be exported and downloaded in DBF or CSV format. Map reports can be downloaded in ArcView Shape file or MapInfo MID/MIF format as a compressed.
Please contact Kathy Wu (kathyw@library.rochester.edu) for questions and assistance.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides interactive tools to create maps, presentations, and analysis of U.S. and international data, including census, health, crime, religion, and business.

Reference Guides

200 years of U.S. census taking : population and housing questions, 1790-1990.
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA37.U55 B63 1989
Population information in nineteenth century census volumes
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA214 .S378
Population information in twentieth century census volumes, 1900-1940
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA214 .S38
Population information in twentieth century census volumes, 1950-1980
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA214 .S382 1988
Dubester's U.S. census bibliography with SuDocs class numbers and indexes
Call Number: Rhees Periodical Reading Room 2nd Floor HA214 .C66 1996 Summary holdings: v. 1-
Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790 to 1990
Population of the 100 Largest Cities and Other Urban Places In The United States: 1790 to 1990
Historical statistics of the states of the United States : two centuries of the census, 1790-1990
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA214 .D63 1993
Immigrants and their children, 1850-1950
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HB2595 .H97i
Population information in twentieth century census volumes, 1900-1940
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA214 .S38
Population of the city of New York, 1890-1930...
Call Number: Rhees Stacks HA731.N55 C58p

United States Census Data (1790 -2020 ): The 20th Census - 1980

River Campus Libraries (RCL) Holdings

General Sources for Historical Data

Reference Guides