LibGuides: United States Census Data (1790 -2020 ): The 22nd Census (2000) and The 23rd Census (2010)

Population & Housing

American Community Survey
American Community Survey is a premier source for detailed population and housing information in the U.S. American Community Survey covers data from different subjects
The topics that are covered in the American Community Survey include age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and earnings, employment status, health insurance coverage, education, citizen voting-age population, housing, etc.
U.S. Bureau of Census
Explore Census Data
To search on data.census.gov, you have two options: a free-form single search bar or an advanced search with filter options.
Public Use Microdata
This tool allows you to utilize the public use microdata files from the American Community Survey and the Current Population Survey to create custom tables that are not available in the pre-made tables on data.census.gov.
Census 2000 Special Reports on Children, Poverty, Income & Earning, Migration, etc.
Census 2010 Population and Housing

Education

Data on Educational Topics
Topic areas covered in this section include Educational Attainment, School Enrollment, Public School System, Finances, School Districts, Teaching about Statistics, and Educational Services
American Community Survey Data on Educational Attainment
Education Attainment - Data and Publications
School Enrollment - Data and Publications
Annual Survey of Public School System Finances
American Community Survey – Education Tabulation (ACS-ED) Tables
NCES collaborates with the U.S. Census Bureau, using The American Community Survey – Education Tabulation (ACS-ED), to create a variety of custom ACS data files that describe the condition of school-age children in the U.S., states, and school districts. The custom NCES files are updated annually and based on ACS five-year period estimates.

Employment, Business & Economy

Employment
Find data on following topics
• Commuting (Journey to Work)
• Disability Employment Tabulation
• Employers: Private Sector
• Employers: Public Sector
• Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation
• Industry and Occupation
• Labor Force Statistics
• Public Sector Employment and Payroll
• Work from Home
Business and Ecomony
This website contains economic data on
• Business and Owner Characteristics
• Business Counts
• Business and Workforce Dynamics
• Expenses and Expenditures
• Inventories
• Sales, Receipts, Shipments, or Production
• Small Business
• Economic Census
• Search or Browse for NAICS codes
• Search or Browse for NAPCS codes
• Measuring Technology and the Economy (Tech Stats)
• Economic Indicators

Income & Poverty

Income & Poverty - Data Tables and Databases
The Census Bureau releases its main income and poverty report each year in September.
Historical Poverty Tables: People and Families - 1959 to 2019
Historical Income Tables: Households
Historical Income Tables: Income Inequality
Income - Data and Publications
Several major household surveys and programs conducted by the Census Bureau collect income data.
Income Inequality - Data and Publications
Income inequality is based on the Gini index, or index of income concentration, a statistical measure ranging from 0 to 1.
Poverty - Data and Publications
Poverty Thresholds and the 2019 official poverty report
Small Area Income and Poverty - Data and Publications
Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates ( SAIPE) model input data , the interactive tool and estimates.
Wealth
Containing detailed tables, and Wealth of Household.
Well-being - Data and Publications
Publications and detailed tables on
• Subjective Well-Being of Eldercare Providers
• A Child's Day: Parental Interaction, School Engagement, and Extracurricular Activities
• Fluctuations in the U.S. Income Distribution
• Extended Measures of Well-being: Living Conditions in the United States
Explore Census Data
To search on data.census.gov, you have two options: a free-form single search bar or an advanced search with filter options.

Historical Data

NHGIS
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS), produced by the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota provides free access to historical Census information. Note: this resource requires user registration, but registration is free and immediate.

Neighborhood change database NCDB This link opens in a new window
Contains nationwide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Census Bureau data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. Contains long form census data with details such as population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. Software creates customized, exportable data and map reports. Data reports can be exported and downloaded in DBF or CSV format. Map reports can be downloaded in ArcView Shape file or MapInfo MID/MIF format as a compressed.
Please contact Kathy Wu (kathyw@library.rochester.edu) for questions and assistance.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides interactive tools to create maps, presentations, and analysis of U.S. and international data, including census, health, crime, religion, and business.

Social Sciences Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing & Writing, Data & Statistics, Debate, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Government Information, Law, Management, Market & Industry Research, Marketing, Operations Management