River Campus Libraries is currently using LibChat as its preferred chat service for patron interactions including on DiscoverUR, LibGuides, and the RCL website. Additional features available through LibAnswers such as a ticketing service and knowledgebase platform will be implemented over the course of the 2022–2023 academic year.
Staff members can access RCL's subscriptions using the following links:
| Title | Message |
|---|---|
| Access - Alumni - Online Resources |
Alumni can access a selection of our premium online resources via the Alumni Library Gateway. To request access, please contact our Alumni office at alumni@rochester.edu. Please include:
Once your email is received and your alumni status confirmed, you will receive a one-time code and instructions for creating your alumni account via the Alumni Library Gateway. |
| Access - Alumni - Physical Resources | To gain library borrowing privileges, Alumni need to visit the ID Office in Susan B Anthony Hall with a current form of photo ID to get an ID badge. Bring this ID Badge to the Q&i desk at any of the River Campus Libraries to activate your library account and begin borrowing items from our collections. |
| Access - CRCDS / St. Bernard's | Students and faculty at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School and St. Bernard's School of Theology and Ministry can gain access to our library collections and online resources by filling out this form. You will be contacted with the next steps within 24-48 hours M-F. If you do not receive an email in that time, please contact us at ask@library.rochester.edu. |
| Access - Emeritus Faculty |
Retired faculty with Emeritus status continue to enjoy access to library collections and online resources granted to active faculty. To confirm Emeritus status, please contact your Faculty Affairs Officer: AS&E, Tammy Michielsen, tammy.michielsen@rochester.edu ESM, Amanda Sharpe, asharpe@esm.rochester.edu Simon, Ashley Beyer, ashley.beyer@simon.rochester.edu SMD, Jane Tolbert, jane.tolbert@rochester.edu SON, Lynn Brown, Lynn_Brown@URMC.Rochester.edu Warner, Jessica Moriarty, jmoriarty@warner.rochester.edu |
| Access - Retired Faculty - Online Resources | Retired faculty and staff may gain access to library online resources through a guest account sponsored by their academic department. Please contact your department to request sponsorship. |
| Access - Retired Faculty - Physical Access | Retired faculty and staff are welcome to borrow items from the River Campus Libraries collections as a courtesy borrower. To set up your courtesy account, or to convert a faculty library record to a courtesy account as a recent retiree, please visit the Q&i desk in any of our libraries on a weekday between 9am and 5pm. |
| Account (Alma) - Changes to Account - Faculty and Staff |
In order to make any changes to your name, address, or expiration date in our system, you must contact HRMS. The information in your library record has been provided through that department and can only be changed by them. |
| Account (Alma) - Changes to Account - Students |
In order to make any changes to your name, address, or expiration date in our system, you must contact the Office of the University Registrar. The information in your library record has been provided through that department and can only be changed by them. |
| Circulation - Equipment (e.g., chargers, calculators, headphones) |
Equipment items such as phone chargers, calculators, and headphones can be requested at the Q&i Desk where the item is held. Laptop chargers must be requested at the IT Center’s help desk on the ground floor of Rush Rhees. Most equipment items may be borrowed for 2 hours, but a few have longer loan periods such as 4 hours or 1 day. Equipment materials must be returned to the Q&i Desk where they were borrowed. These items carry an overdue fine rate of $1.00/hour for hourly loans and $1.00/day for daily loans. The maximum fine for equipment items is $30.00. |
| Circulation - Fines and Fees |
Detailed information about our library’s fines and fees can be found on our Q&i Policies: Fines and Fees page. In order to view fines and fees for University of Rochester Libraries’ items, please click on "My Account" on our website (library.rochester.edu) and log in. |
| Circulation - Hold Request |
To request an item online:
|
| Circulation - Hold Request - Extend Time | Since there are no other requests for this item, I have extended the time that the item will be on the shelf for you. It will now be on the hold shelf until _INSERT_DATE_. |
| Circulation - Proxy Borrowing |
Proxy borrowers must be affiliated with the University of Rochester as Faculty, Staff, or a currently enrolled Student, and must present their University ID to check out materials by proxy. To grant proxy borrowing authorization, Faculty must fill out and sign the Faculty Authorization Form and submit it, either in person at a Q&i desk, or via email (ask@library.rochester.edu). Processing the authorization may take up to 48 hours. For more information on Proxy Borrowing, please visit our Q&i Policies: Proxy Borrowing page. |
| Circulation - Recall Request |
When an item is recalled, the due date is changed, giving the current patron one week to finish using the item. If not returned on time, fines accrue at the rate of $1.00/day. Recalls may be placed online using the "Get It" option in DiscoverUR or at any Q&i desk. |
| Circulation - Renew Items |
We have renewed the item as requested, and it is now due on _DATE_. To renew items online, log into "My Account" on the River Campus Libraries webpage (library.rochester.edu) using your University Active Directory credentials. From there, you should be able to see all of the items you currently have checked out and renew eligible items. |
| Circulation - Return Items by Mail (i.e., off-campus) |
If you need to return items to the River Campus Libraries but have already left campus and do not plan to return, you may mail University and ILL materials back to: University of Rochester Please note: Media Mail® through the United States Postal Service is a cost-effective option for sending materials back to the library. For more information on this service, visit: https://www.usps.com/ship/mail-shipping-services.htm |
| Circulation - Return Locations |
Items borrowed from the River Campus Libraries may be returned to any University of Rochester Library. Exceptions to this include:
These must be returned directly to the Q&i desk of the library where the item was borrowed during open hours. For all other items, there are three convenient book drop locations:
|
| Circulation - Status of Request |
According to our records, _TITLE_OF_ITEM_ is _STATUS_OF_REQUEST_. _DETAILS_AS_NECESSARY You will receive a notice via email when the requested item is ready for your to pick up at _PICKUP_LOCATION_. |
| Citation - Endnote Product Key |
The product key in our Endnote download is "zipped" in the download, so follow these steps when you're asked for a product key:
This should continue the installation process of the program on your computer. |
| Citation - Style Guides |
For citation style help, we have a resource guide that provides information on a variety of styles. You can access the guide here: https://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/writingNciting/citations. We also recommend reaching out to the librarian for your subject area for additional help/guidance. |
| Course Reserves - Borrowing materials |
Course Reserve items must be requested at the Q&i Desk where the item is held. Most reserve items may be borrowed for 2 or 3 hours, but a few have longer loan periods such as 4 hours, 1, 3 ,or 7 days. All reserve DVDs and Video Games must be viewed in the Art/ Music Library. Reserve materials must be returned to the Q&i Desk where they were borrowed. Please visit the Course Reserves page for more information. |
| General - Closed / Holiday | The _LIBRARY_ will be closed on _DATE_ in observance of the University Holiday. We will be open again on _DATE_. Information about all River Campus Library hours can be found on our website at: https://www.library.rochester.edu/about/hours. |
| General - Hours of Operation | The _LIBRARY_ hours are _HOURS_. Information about all River Campus Library hours can be found on our website at: https://www.library.rochester.edu/about/hours. |
| General - Non-UR Affiliate / Questions Unrelated to UR Libraries |
Our chat reference services are intended for University of Rochester affiliates. All others are welcome to submit questions using the contact form on our homepage. We are happy to answer questions from all University of Rochester affiliates and from non-affiliates inquiring about the library's collections. Unfortunately, we are unable to answer questions from the general public which are not directly related to University of Rochester Library services and collections. Instead, we recommend reaching out to your local library for assistance. You can find your local library using this website: https://www.worldcat.org/libraries. Have a great day! |
| Interlibrary Loan - Place a request |
The title you are looking for is not available in our collection, but you can request it for free through our interlibrary loan service. Interlibrary loan is a free service that allows you to request items from another library to be sent to UR for you free of charge. Many items are sent as PDFs and arrive in a couple of days; some items will need to be physically mailed to our campus. To place an interlibrary loan request for this item, go to https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu and log in using your University Active Directory credentials. You will receive an email once your requested item has arrived and can be downloaded or checked out. |
| Refer to Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School (CRCDS) |
I believe our library staff at the Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School would be better able to answer your question. While they are not currently available via chat, you can reach them here: Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with! |
| Refer to George Eastman Museum |
I believe our library staff at the George Eastman Museum would be better able to answer your question. While they are not currently available via chat, you can reach them here: George Eastman Museum In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with! |
| Refer to Memorial Art Gallery |
I believe our library staff at the Memorial Art Gallery would be better able to answer your question. While they are not currently available via chat, you can reach them here: Memorial Art Gallery In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with! |
| Transfer to Miner | I believe our library staff at Miner Libraries would be better able to answer your question. One moment please while I transfer your chat to someone from that library. |
| Transfer to Sibley | I believe our library staff at Sibley Music Library would be better able to answer your question. One moment please while I transfer your chat to someone from that library. |
| Transfer from Miner | Hello! My name is _YOUR_NAME_ from River Campus Libraries. One moment please while I review the transcript for your request. |
| Transfer from Sibley | Hello! My name is _YOUR_NAME_ from River Campus Libraries. One moment please while I review the transcript for your request. |
Starting October 2022, the following tags will be used to categorize and assess chat transactions. Details to follow!
The DiscoverUR chat widget is monitored by staff at River Campus Libraries, as well as Miner Libraries and Sibley Music Library.
The widget appears as a "Chat Live" or "Contact Us" button near the bottom, right corner of Discover UR search results.
When users click on the "Chat Live" button, they are asked to "Select a Library" with the following options:
This feature allows questions to be routed to the appropriate campus. All three campuses staff the Other / Not Sure option. If a campus is offline (i.e., no staff member assigned to that campus's department is currently monitoring chat), that library will not appear in the list. Instead, the user is expected to select Other / Not Sure.
Click here to view
The River Campus Libraries website chat widget is only monitored by staff at River Campus Libraries.
The widget appears as a "Chat Live" or "Contact Us" button near the bottom, right corner of library webpages.
Click here to view
Staff members interested in embedding a chat widget on their LibGuides can have a direct widget created for their account. The format for these widgets is standardized and should not be changed without contacting the RCL LibAnswers administrator. To have a chat widget made for your LibGuides profile, contact your RCL LibAnswers administrator.
Click here to view
Direct widgets are currently available for the following users: