LibAnswers User Guide and Best Practices

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Alumni can access a selection of our premium online resources via the Alumni Library Gateway.  To request access, please contact our Alumni office at alumni@rochester.edu.

Please include:

• Your name—the name you used while enrolled or former names
• Mailing address
• Class year School(s) from which you received your degree

Once your email is received and your alumni status confirmed, you will receive a one-time code and instructions for creating your alumni account via the Alumni Library Gateway.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

To gain library borrowing privileges, Alumni need to visit the ID Office in Susan B Anthony Hall with a current form of photo ID to get an ID badge. Bring this ID Badge to the Q&i desk at any of the River Campus Libraries to activate your library account and begin borrowing items from our collections.

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Students and faculty at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School and St. Bernard's School of Theology and Ministry can gain access to our library collections and online resources by filling out this form.  You will be contacted with the next steps within 24-48 hours M-F. If you do not receive an email in that time, please respond to this ticket or contact us at ask@library.rochester.edu.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Students and faculty at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School and St. Bernard's School of Theology and Ministry can gain access to our library collections and online resources by filling out this form.  You will be contacted with the next steps within 24-48 hours M-F. If you do not receive an email in that time, please contact us at ask@library.rochester.edu.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Retired faculty with Emeritus status continue to enjoy access to library collections and online resources granted to active faculty. To confirm Emeritus status, please contact your Faculty Affairs Officer:

AS&E, Tammy Michielsen, tammy.michielsen@rochester.edu

ESM, Amanda Sharpe, asharpe@esm.rochester.edu

Simon, Ashley Beyer, ashley.beyer@simon.rochester.edu

SMD, Jane Tolbert, jane.tolbert@rochester.edu

SON, Lynn Brown, Lynn_Brown@URMC.Rochester.edu

Warner, Jessica Moriarty, jmoriarty@warner.rochester.edu

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Retired faculty and staff may gain access to library online resources through a guest account sponsored by their academic department. Please contact your department to request sponsorship.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Retired faculty and staff are welcome to borrow items from the River Campus Libraries collections as a courtesy borrower. To set up your courtesy account, or to convert a faculty library record to a courtesy account as a recent retiree, please visit the Q&i desk in any of our libraries on a weekday between 9am and 5pm.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

In order to make any changes to your name, address, or expiration date in our system, you must contact HRMS.

The information in your library record has been provided through that department and can only be changed by them.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

In order to make any changes to your name, address, or expiration date in our system, you must contact the Office of the University Registrar.

The information in your library record has been provided through that department and can only be changed by them.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Equipment items such as phone chargers, calculators, and headphones can be requested at the Q&i Desk where the item is held. Laptop chargers must be requested at the IT Center’s help desk on the ground floor of Rush Rhees. Most equipment items may be borrowed for 2 hours, but a few have longer loan periods such as 4 hours or 1 day.

Equipment materials must be returned to the Q&i Desk where they were borrowed. These items carry an overdue fine rate of $1.00/hour for hourly loans and $1.00/day for daily loans. The maximum fine for equipment items is $30.00.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Detailed information about our library’s fines and fees can be found on our Q&i Policies: Fines and Fees page.

In order to view fines and fees for University of Rochester Libraries’ items, please click on "My Account" on our website (library.rochester.edu) and log in.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

To request an item online:

1. Find the item in DiscoverUR.
2. Log in to your account to see request options. You will need your Active Directory's username and password.
3. Under the "Get It" part of the display, click Request.
4. Fill in the request form with your preferred pickup location, and click Send Request.
5. You will be notified via email within 24-48 hrs when your item is ready for pickup.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Since there are no other requests for this item, I have extended the time that the item will be on the shelf for you. It will now be on the hold shelf until _INSERT_DATE_.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Proxy borrowers must be affiliated with the University of Rochester as Faculty, Staff, or a currently enrolled Student, and must present their University ID to check out materials by proxy.

To grant proxy borrowing authorization, Faculty must fill out and sign the Faculty Authorization Form and submit it, either in person at a Q&i desk, or via email (ask@library.rochester.edu). Processing the authorization may take up to 48 hours.

For more information on Proxy Borrowing, please visit our Q&i Policies: Proxy Borrowing page.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Proxy borrowers must be affiliated with the University of Rochester as Faculty, Staff, or a currently enrolled Student, and must present their University ID to check out materials by proxy.

To grant proxy borrowing authorization, Faculty must fill out and sign the Faculty Authorization Form and submit it, either in person at a Q&i desk, via email (ask@library.rochester.edu), or by responding to this message. Processing the authorization may take up to 48 hours.

For more information on Proxy Borrowing, please visit our Q&i Policies: Proxy Borrowing page.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

When an item is recalled, the due date is changed, giving the current patron one week to finish using the item. If not returned on time, fines accrue at the rate of $1.00/day.

Recalls may be placed online using the "Get It" option in DiscoverUR or at any Q&i desk.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

We have renewed the item as requested, and it is now due on _DATE_.

To renew items online, log into "My Account" on the River Campus Libraries webpage (library.rochester.edu) using your University Active Directory credentials. From there, you should be able to see all of the items you currently have checked out and renew eligible items.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

If you need to return items to the River Campus Libraries but have already left campus and do not plan to return, you may mail University and ILL materials back to:

University of Rochester
Rush Rhees Library
755 Library Road
Attn: Patron Services
Rochester, NY 14627-0055

Please note: Media Mail® through the United States Postal Service is a cost-effective option for sending materials back to the library. For more information on this service, visit: https://www.usps.com/ship/mail-shipping-services.htm

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Items borrowed from the River Campus Libraries may be returned to any University of Rochester Library.

Exceptions to this include:

• Reserve materials
• Current journal issues
• Reference materials
• Maps
• Technical reports

These must be returned directly to the Q&i desk of the library where the item was borrowed during open hours.

For all other items, there are three convenient book drop locations:

• Rush Rhees Library at the Library Road entrance next to the bank ATM
• Carlson Library near the Trustee Road entrance
• Physics, Optics, and Astronomy Library just outside the library entrance

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

According to our records,  _TITLE_OF_ITEM_ is _STATUS_OF_REQUEST_.

_DETAILS_AS_NECESSARY

You will receive a notice via email when the requested item is ready for your to pick up at _PICKUP_LOCATION_.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

The product key in our Endnote download is "zipped" in the download, so follow these steps when you're asked for a product key:

1. Navigate to where you downloaded the EndNote program folder
2. Unzip or extract all files from the compressed folder
3. From the extracted files, open the .exe file

This should continue the installation process of the program on your computer.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

For citation style help, we have a resource guide that provides information on a variety of styles.  You can access the guide here: https://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/writingNciting/citations.

We also recommend reaching out to the librarian for your subject area for additional help/guidance.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

Course Reserve items must be requested at the Q&i Desk where the item is held. Most reserve items may be borrowed for 2 or 3 hours, but a few have longer loan periods such as 4 hours, 1, 3 ,or 7 days.

All reserve DVDs and Video Games must be viewed in the Art/ Music Library.

Reserve materials must be returned to the Q&i Desk where they were borrowed.

Please visit the Course Reserves page for more information.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

Hello!

Thank you for contacting River Campus Libraries.

The _LIBRARY_ will be closed on _DATE_ in observance of the University Holiday. We will be open again on _DATE_. Information about all River Campus Library hours can be found on our website at: https://www.library.rochester.edu/about/hours.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received by River Campus Libraries through LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Based on the nature of this request, I believe your library will be better able to assist this patron.

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received by River Campus Libraries through LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Based on the nature of this request, I believe your library will be better able to assist this patron.

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received by River Campus Libraries through LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Based on the nature of this request, I believe your library will be better able to assist this patron.

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received by River Campus Libraries through LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Based on the nature of this request, I believe your library will be better able to assist this patron.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received in LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}

The following message was received by River Campus Libraries through LibAnswers on {{t.asked}} (details below).

Based on the nature of this request, I believe your library will be better able to assist this patron.

Please do not "reply all" to this message.  Instead, reply directly to the patron using the contact information in this message and remove the @rochester.libanswers.com email address from your response.

Thanks!

{{u.nickname}}