Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Rochester Archives: Getting Started

SEARCH THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

Not all our online resources are located on the same platform, so searching across materials is not always easy (or possible).  

  • When searching, use AND, OR, NOT for Boolean searching. Use quotation marks to create phrases. 
    For example: "Rochester Review" AND Boody

ASK THE ARCHIVIST

The collections listed below are available onsite and may be subject to restricted access. Please email for assistance
  • Public Relations Subject Files
  • Public Relations Faculty/Staff Files
  • Alumnae/i Folders
  • Press Releases
  • Photograph files, including slides, negatives, contact sheets

ABOUT THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

The University Archives is part of the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP) and is located on the second floor of Rush Rhees Library. The Archives creates rotating exhibits in the Great Hall, and provides classes and special presentations for groups and individuals. While our collections must be used on-site, we are open to the public and welcome everyone.
Please note that some collections have restrictions, but every effort is made to enable access and provide answers--just ask!

The Eastman School of Music, School of Medicine and Dentistry/Medical Center, and Memorial Art Gallery each have their own archives--be sure to contact them for questions related to their histories

USING THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

All researchers must contact us by email or telephone before visiting, as an appointment is currently required to use the collections. All researchers will be asked to fill out a registration form beforehand or in-person and provide valid photo identification (such as UR ID or a driver's license). 

The Archives has hundreds of collections that are described in online finding aids. Each entry gives basic descriptive information about the subject and material in the collection, the size of the collection, and its provenance (how it came to the Archives). Finding aids contain a short description of the collection and, in some cases, a box-by-box or folder-by-folder listing of its contents.

Printed material -- books, maps, newspapers, journals -- is represented by author, title, and subject entries in the library's catalog. The history of the University is also the history of the community, and the department also has a very strong collection of local history (Rochester and Western New York) materials.

Keil University Archivist & Rochester Collections Librarian

Profile Photo
Melissa Mead (University Archives)
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 225
585-275-9337
Website