LibGuides: University of Rochester Archives: Publications

SEARCH THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

Not all our online resources are located on the same platform, so searching across materials is not always easy (or possible).

When searching, use AND, OR, NOT for Boolean searching. Use quotation marks to create phrases.
For example: "Rochester Review" AND Boody

UNIVERSITY PUBLICATIONS

University publications

PLEASE NOTE: Some resources below may be temporarily unavailable due to website issues.

Rochester Review (issues from 1922-present)
The Rochester Review has been published since 1922 and brings news of academic, athletic, research, and student life to alumni/ae and friends of the University.

Alternate access (1922-1996 only) https://rbscp.lib.rochester.edu/rochester-review/browse-all
Commencement Programs
Currents, 1966-1973
University of Rochester staff publication. Please email for additional issues
More publications online

UNIVERSITY HISTORIES

The history of the University has been written in small and large ways from its beginning in 1850.

Book-length versions include:

History of the University of Rochester by Arthur J. May (Unabridged version)
Upon his retirement in 1964 after almost 40 years of teaching European history at the University of Rochester, Professor Arthur J. May was appointed University Historian to write a history of the University. He and his two research assistants had nearly completed the first draft at the time of May's sudden death in June 1968. The manuscript draft, exquisitely detailed, was too long to publish as a single volume. His draft--unabridged and unpolished--is presented here.
History of the University of Rochester, 1850-1962 by Arthur J. May ; edited and abridged by Lawrence E. Klein.
After May's death, Lawrence E. Klein (UR 1971) was employed to abridge the manuscript to book length. This abridged version was then published in 1977. Copies are available in Rush Rhees Library.
Our Work is But Begun (2014) by Janice Bullard Pieterse
Covers the University's history from 1850 to 2005
Beside the Genesee: a Pictorial History of the University of Rochester (2000) by Jan L. Waxman
Published to celebrate the University's sesquicentennial in 2000
History of the Campuses and Buildings of the University of Rochester
Website created by Morris Pierce (UR PhD 1993) in the Department of History
The University of Rochester: The First Hundred Years (1950)
Created as a special issue of the Rochester Review for the University's Centennial
Rochester: The Making of a University (1927) by Jesse L. Rosenberger
Online via Hathitrust (may require NetID login):

COURSE BULLETINS

University of Rochester Archives: Publications

SEARCH THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

UNIVERSITY PUBLICATIONS

University publications

UNIVERSITY HISTORIES

The history of the University has been written in small and large ways from its beginning in 1850.

Book-length versions include:

COURSE BULLETINS

ELECTRONIC THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

STUDENT PUBLICATIONS ONLINE

Student publications are a vibrant source for news and views on events, academics, athletics and activities.

COURSE DESCRIPTIONS

Keil University Archivist & Rochester Collections Librarian

University of Rochester Archives: Publications

SEARCH THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

UNIVERSITY PUBLICATIONS

University publications

UNIVERSITY HISTORIES

The history of the University has been written in small and large ways from its beginning in 1850. Book-length versions include:

COURSE BULLETINS

ELECTRONIC THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

STUDENT PUBLICATIONS ONLINE

Student publications are a vibrant source for news and views on events, academics, athletics and activities.

COURSE DESCRIPTIONS

Keil University Archivist & Rochester Collections Librarian

The history of the University has been written in small and large ways from its beginning in 1850.

Book-length versions include: