LibGuides: University of Rochester Archives: Faculty Papers

SEARCH THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

Not all our online resources are located on the same platform, so searching across materials is not always easy (or possible).

When searching, use AND, OR, NOT for Boolean searching. Use quotation marks to create phrases.
For example: "Rochester Review" AND Boody

HISTORY

Elwitt (Sanford) Papers
The Sanford Elwitt Papers includes correspondence from 1950-1989 exchanged with colleagues at the University of Rochester and other institutions. Additional materials include grant proposals, reviews of others' writings, and materials related to Elwitt's role and promotion within the University of Rochester's History Department.
Lasch (Christopher) Papers
Christopher Lasch (1932-1994) was a historian, moralist, social and political critic, and professor in postwar America. The Christopher Lasch collection consists of over seventy boxes of Lasch's papers, including eleven boxes of general correspondence; thirty-five boxes of manuscripts, typescripts, notes, and correspondence relating to Lasch's major publications and speaking engagements; eleven boxes of academic lecture notes; four boxes of student files with correspondence and related material; and seven boxes of early typescripts, manuscripts and notes.
Morey (William Carey) Papers
William Carey Morey was born in 1843. In 1862 he entered the University of Rochester, but left shortly afterward to join the Union Army. At the end of the Civil War, he retired from the army as brevet major and lieutenant colonel of the cavalry. From 1872 to 1883 he taught Latin and history, and from 1883 until his retirement in 1920, he taught history and political science.
Perkins (Dexter) Papers
Dr. Perkins was the author of 17 books, many of them on the formation and conduct of America foreign policy. He was regarded by his contemporaries as a leading expert on the Monroe Doctrine, about which he wrote several volumes.

ENGLISH

Slater (John Rothwell) Papers
Papers consist primarily of Slater's writings, mostly typewritten copies and newspaper clippings.
Summers (Joseph and U.T.) Papers
The Joseph and U. T. Summers Papers consists of two series, Unpublished Lectures and Correspondence. The four lectures were delivered by Professor Summers while he was Fulbright Professor at All Souls' College, Oxford University. The Correspondence Series contains a mixture of correspondence, clippings, and articles.

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Fenno (Richard F.) Papers
Materials gathered from interviews he conducted with members of Congress beginning in the 1960s through the early 2000s. The boxes contain research notes, biographical materials and correspondence. Also included in the collection are research notes about Congress more generally, and drafts of book chapters.
more...less...
The collection also include lectures and talks that Professor Fenno gave during his career, both at the University of Rochester and as a speaker at other universities.

ECONOMICS

McKenzie (Lionel W.) Papers
The Lionel McKenzie Papers document McKenzie's career as a professor of Economic. The majority of the materials in the collection are letters written to and from McKenzie. There are also materials that document his committee and society work. A third body of materials consists of department meetings and faculty recruitment. There are also documents related to McKenzie's research.

OTHER

Robinson, Otis Hall
Personal account book of Otis Hall Robinson (1835-1912), University of Rochester graduate (1861), professor of mathematics and librarian (Collection call number: CX 9)

OPTICS, PHYSICS and ASTRONOMY

O'Brien (Brian) Papers
Brian O'Brien (1898-1992) was the first director of the University of Rochester's Institute of Optics, a position he held from 1938 to 1953 after serving eight years as chair of physiological optics.
Kingslake Family Papers
The Kingslake Archive contains the papers and related items of two giants in the field of optics, Rudolf Kingslake and his wife Hilda Conrady Kingslake. Dr. Kingslake kept detailed records of almost everything he did, much of which is preserved in this Archive.
Mandel (Leonard) Papers
The Leonard Mandel papers contains articles, notes, correspondence, as well as visual materials, created and collected throughout Leonard Mandel’s education in London, England, and career as a professor of physics at the University of Rochester. Items in the collection, including notes, papers, and conference proceedings, demonstrate Mandel’s specialization and research interests in quantum optics and lasers...

PHILOSOPHY

Beck (Lewis White) Papers
The Beck Papers contain typescripts with manuscript corrections and additions for his Philosophic Inquiry (1952), A Commentary of the Critique of Practical Reason (1958), and Six Secular Philosophers (1960).
more...less...
Also included is a Xerox copy of the typescript with manuscript corrections for his Early German Philosophy (1969). A 1960 manuscript draft of The Actor and the spectator is accompanied by the later revised typescript (1974).

CHEMISTRY

Gates (Marshall D.) Research Notebooks
The Marshall Gates Research Notebooks collection is comprised of four manuscript boxes recording fifty years of Marshall Gates, Jr.'s laboratory activities, including his notes pertaining to the synthesis of morphine in 1952.

ART AND ART HISTORY

Merritt (Howard S.) Papers
The Howard Merritt collection includes his research, lecture notes, published articles and books with a small portion of materials related to Florence Merritt. Howard Merritt wrote and lectured extensively on 19th century painters such as Thomas Cole and Thomas Chambers.
more...less...
Much of his research and lecture notes focus on painting in early America and American landscape, but also include topics such as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Baroque period. The collection also contains the couple's correspondence exchanged among colleagues from 1963-1988.

ENGINEERING

Gavett (Joseph William) Papers
The papers consist mainly of maps and reports related to Professor Gavett's tour of duty in France with the Engineering Corp during World War I.

BIOLOGY

Bishop (Sherman C.) Papers
Predominant in this collection is the correspondence (1932-1952) between vertebrate zoologist Sherman C. Bishop and wildlife artist Hugh P. Chrisp. In their letters the men discuss the details of their work -- specimen collecting and illustration particulars -- as well as their personal lives.
more...less...
Frequent topics include: family, fellow artists, scientists, and authors; the University of Rochester biology department; and the effect of World War II on the men's professional and personal lives.
Ward (Henry A.) Papers
The Henry Augustus Ward Papers contain indexed correspondence from many famous contemporary scientists, and letters from P. T. Barnum, for whom Ward did much work including the taxidermy of Jumbo the elephant.
more...less...
There are also family letters, travel diaries, photographs, catalogs from the Science Establishment and material relating to Ward's meteorite collections.

THEATER

Arvin, Neil Cole
A 2-volume typescript study of the French theater by Arvin (1889-1953), Professor of French at the University of Rochester. Written ca. 1930, it was not published. (Collection number: CX 201)

Keil University Archivist and Rochester Collections Librarian

Melissa Mead (University Archives)

Email Me

Contact:

Rush Rhees Library, 225

585-275-9337

Subjects: University of Rochester History