Skip to main content

* Psychology: Books

This subject guide provides reliable resources pertaining to the study of behavior and the mind.

Books & Multimedia

Search the Voyager Catalog to find books, journals (not articles), DVDs, and videos on topics in psychology in the libraries' collections. While many of the books and journals in psychology are in Rush Rhees Library, some useful materials will be in other U of R libraries. Do notice Location. You can usually request that books be sent to Rush Rhees and articles sent to you using the Request This Item link in Voyager.  If you need help locating something in the stacks, stop by the Q&i Desk:


 

Books on psychology are cataloged in the BF Library of Congress classification range.  They can be found on the Level 1 of the library (same floor as the Q&i desk, follow the blue line in the stacks)   

Here is a breakdown of some the major subclasses:

BF 1-990 Psychology (general)
BF 1001-1389 Parapsychology
BF 1404-2055 Occult Sciences

Note: For other call number ranges, see this Call number directory.

Most DVDs and videos can be checked out or viewed in the Art/Music library in Rush Rhees. To search what we have, use the keyword search on the Find DVDs and Videos page of the library's website or search for particular titles in the Voyager Catalog.


Need books or DVDs we don't own? We have a very active Interlibrary Loan Service called Illiad. It is available free of charge to current River Campus students, faculty, and staff. Sign up the first time you use it, then just use your NetID and password. Most books take about a week. Most articles take 2-4 days. Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu.

Interlibrary Loan & Using Worldcat

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less!  If you have the citation of the item you wish to request, go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu 
& log in with your NetID to request an item.  

From within any of the library any databases, click the button.  It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the libraries. Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan. 
 

Looking for books we don't have in the library?  Try searching WORLDCAT (either for a title or by keywords on your topic).  Click on the button to request a book through ILL. 

Still can't find what you're looking for?  Please contact me! 

Getting Started: Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Getting started on your topic? Begin by checking out these encyclopedia and bibliography databases. They'll provide you with a basic background for your topic, and a list of important papers published on your topic.  This is a great time-saver.

When you have a list of books or articles to search for, you can search from our Articles & Books tab on our homepage: http://www.library.rochester.edu.