APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, Education, Nursing, and Sociology, 2nd ed. by
The newly and thoroughly revised Second Edition of APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, Education, Nursing, and Sociology delivers a concise but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. It incorporates fresh guidelines from the Seventh Edition of the APA publication manual. Distinguished psychologist, academic, and author Dr. Bernard C. Beins walks readers through how to write objective scientific research papers using engaging prose. He explains how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly. The book also describes the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each one. APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, Education, Nursing, and Sociology 2nd Edition goes beyond mere structural conventions and teaches readers the importance of choosing effective wording, the right and wrong times to use technical language, and avoiding commonly encountered mistakes in word and sentence selection. The author also includes sections on: How to write an engaging and informative introduction, including an interesting hypothesis How to describe your chosen experimental method, including participants and subjects, materials and apparatus selection, procedure, and design How to effectively communicate statistics and statistical concepts by keeping your mind on the point you're trying to make How to show your results and relate them back to your hypothesis, including a few points about how to present your results to others Perfect for students pursuing psychology, education, nursing, or sociology programs at any level, from undergraduate to postgraduate, APA Style Simplified also belongs on the bookshelves of working professionals in the same fields who hope to sharpen their APA-style writing, communication, and presentation skills.
A Student Guide to Writing an Undergraduate Psychology Honors Thesis by
A Student Guide to Writing an Undergraduate Psychology Honors Thesis takes students through the entire process of creating a full-scale research project, from selecting a topic, choosing an experimental or correlational design, to writing and presenting their paper. The book offers valuable guidance on developing broader skills like communicating with your supervisor, time management and critical writing skills. Chapters cover topics such as mentor selection, collecting journal articles, gathering and analyzing data, and writing a full APA or BPS experimental paper and will orientate and guide psychology students as they navigate the expected components of an honors thesis. Designed for any student that is currently working on an independent research project, A Student Guide to Writing an Undergraduate Psychology Honors Thesis is the perfect companion for those working on their senior honors thesis in psychology.
Writing Dissertations and Theses in Psychology by
This accessible guide equips students to succeed in their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation in psychology. The authors provide concrete assistance to the myriad tasks and requirements that students will encounter as they plan, conduct, and present their dissertation or thesis research. Drawing upon their many years of experience in working with graduate students, the authors address the multiple stages of the dissertation and thesis process. They take you through drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation. Chapters provide guidance on using a research team, collecting data, conducting a literature review, and even acquiring financial support. Finally, students will find additional resources such as practical information on copyright issues, research methods, case analyses, and teleconferencing. This is an essential book for both graduate psychology students working on their master's theses or doctoral dissertations and their advisors.
Writing in Psychology, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of Writing in Psychology by Scott A. Miller is a comprehensive guide to addressing the most challenging issues that students face while writing about psychology, including what to say and how to say it. It offers practical tools to overcome the challenges and create an engaging work. The book is a valuable resource for helping readers become better writers of psychology with the aid of various helpful learning tools, which provide detailed coverage of how to write empirical reviews, research proposals, literature reviews, term papers, and posters. It examines examples from journal articles that give readers a grasp of the content they will encounter in writing psychological reports. Furthermore, it includes exercises that provide an opportunity to apply the points conveyed in each chapter, examples of ways to avoid the most common mistakes made by students, and a guide to the best practices for improving one's writing. Readers will also develop a thorough understanding of how to write in an engaging yet accurate style, using grammatical and word use rules that govern writing in general, and the rules of seventh edition APA (American Psychological Association) Publication Manual that determine the expression of that content. Throughout, the book emphasizes inclusion, diversity, and fair treatment of those with whom psychologists deal, in research and writing. The book will benefit anyone looking for guidance on how to write about psychological content. It is ideal for research scholars and psychology students as a primary text for writing in psychology courses and a supplement for graduate or advanced undergraduate courses in research design or research methods.
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
Many psychology students dislike writing a research paper, their aversion driven by anxiety over various aspects of the process. This primer for undergraduates explains how to write a clear, compelling, well-organized research paper. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision - each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. Students learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time, and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, any student can not only get through their dreaded writing assignment, but become a more proficient writer.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Scientific Writing for Psychology by
Scientific Writing for Psychology: Lessons in Clarity and Style provides straightforward, hands-on strategies to help psychology students master scientific writing. At the core of this brief and engaging guide are seven class-tested lessons: three devoted to sentences, one to paragraphs, and three to writing research reports. Packed with helpful examples and an abundance of writing wisdom, this book addresses the skills every successful writer needs.
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology by
Now updated to reflect the changes made from the 5th to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual, this book takes the reader step-by-step through: crafting research questions or theses executing library database searches analysing, evaluating, and synthesising literature drafting specific parts of a paper and more Writing samples, including two full-length student papers in draft, marked-up, and final form, illustrate key concepts such as how to synthesise literature, how revision differs from editing, and how to recognise and avoid plagiarism. Guidance on how to communicate with instructors on a professional level is given, and the book shows examples of checklists and grading rubrics instructors might use. A self-quiz to engage the reader's knowledge of APA style and format is also included, as well as example reference formats and other quick-reference style tools.
Citation managers like RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero help you track and organize your citations, so that when you're writing your paper, you can easily cite your sources. Citation managers also help you insert citations, create endnotes and bibliographies.
Annotated bibliographies differ from abstracts or summaries of articles. Annotated bibliographies are a list of sources (journal or news articles, books, websites, datasets, etc.) on a particular topic. The list is usually in alphabetical order by author and employs a single citation style. The propose of an annotated bibliography is:
Some questions to help with your analysis of a source might include:
Here are a few links to help you better understand and construct an annotated bibliography.
Graphic Organizers to help you build an annotated bibliography:
A DOI (short for Digital Object Identifier) is a unique number assigned to any digital object like an article, a data set, image, etc. The DOI starts with the number 10 and might contain numbers, letters, slashes, and periods.
So, for the following article:
The DOI is 10.1037/0003-066x.55.1.68
How to cite an article with a DOI:
APA (American Psychological Association), 7th ed.
Ryan, R. M., & Deci, E. L. (2000). Self-determination theory and the facilitation of intrinsic motivation, social development, and well-being. American Psychologist, 55(1), 68-78. https://doi.org/10.1037/0003-066x.55.1.68
ASA (American Sociological Association)
Ryan, Richard M., and Edward L. Deci. 2000. "Self-determination Theory and the Facilitation of Intrinsic Motivation, Social Development, and Well-being." American Psychologist 55(1). Retrieved March 7, 2018 (http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/0003-066X.55.1.68).
For more information on DOIs, visit https://www.doi.org/
