These are some recently added psychology books and ebooks:
Adolescent Psychosis: Clinical and Scientific Perspectives by
Adolescent Psychosis: Clinical and Scientific Perspectives presents new methodologies and novel scientific findings, with a comprehensive orientation into the genetics, phenomenology, nosology, and long-term outcome of adolescent early-onset psychosis research. This volume discusses recent epidemiological studies, along with co-morbid aspects associated with other neurodevelopmental syndromes and somatic diseases. The book also provides suggestions for future research using a translational perspective, from genes to the clinic to and relevant phenotypes, biomarkers, treatment options and etiological aspects. Topics discussed bring together expert researchers in the field to represent different perspectives and future possibilities.
Asian American Psychology and Psychotherapy: Intergenerational Trauma, Betrayal, and Liberation by
This book addresses the double-bind Asian diaspora in the West commonly find themselves in--that of having to cope with high rates of maltreatment within the family, as well as racism and other forms of discrimination from without.
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity and Emotions by
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity and Emotions provides a state-of-the-art review of research on the role of emotions in creativity. This volume presents the insights and perspectives of sixty creativity scholars from thirteen countries who span multiple disciplines, including developmental, social, and personality psychology; industrial and organizational psychology; neuroscience; education; art therapy, and sociology. It discusses affective processes - emotion states, traits, and emotion abilities - in relation to the creative process, person, and product, as well as two major contexts for expression of creativity: school, and work. It is a go-to source for scholars who need to enhance their understanding of a specific topic relating to creativity and emotion, and it provides students and researchers with a comprehensive introduction to creativity and emotion broadly.
The Cambridge Handbook of Prosociality by
Prosociality is a multifaceted concept referring to the many ways in which individuals care about and benefit others. Human prosociality is foundational to social harmony, happiness, and peace; it is therefore essential to understand its underpinnings, development, and cultivation. This handbook provides a state-of-the-art, in-depth account of scientific, theoretical, and practical knowledge regarding prosociality and its development. Its thirty chapters, written by international researchers in the field, elucidate key issues, including: the development of prosociality across infancy, childhood, adolescence, and beyond; the biological, cognitive, emotional, and motivational mechanisms that underlie and influence prosociality; how different socialization agents and social contexts can affect children's prosociality; and intervention approaches aimed at cultivating prosociality in children and adolescents. This knowledge can benefit researchers, students, practitioners, and policy makers seeking to nurture socially responsible, caring youth.
A Cultural Humility and Social Justice Approach to Psychotherapy: Seven Applied Guidelines for Evidence-based Practice by
Achieving effectiveness of evidence-based psychotherapy across a diversity of patients continues to be a foremost concern, and many training programs and professional societies in clinical psychology are at a loss as to how to systematically approach this issue. In A Cultural Humility and Social Justice Approach to Psychotherapy, Anu Asnaani provides an applied guide for working with clients from a diverse set of intersectional identities within the context of evidence-based practice. Drawing on her extensive clinical experience with a range of clients and therapy protocols/approaches, her active and ongoing research program in addressing health disparities, and considerable work in training clinicians across practice settings to incorporate diversity perspectives into treatment, Asnaani presents practical ways to engage in culturally humble, socially just clinical practice. Guidelines are derived from the consensus across published literature and established practice, and cover the full trajectory of treatment, from assessment through to relapse prevention; the book further offers some considerations for adopting these principles within the context of clinical supervision. Suitable for a broad range of mental health practitioners providing evidence-based clinical care for individuals with psychological disorders, this book provides worksheets, reflection exercises, and short-hand figures, making these concepts as easy-to-use in clinical practice as possible.
Disrupting White Mindfulness: Race and Racism in the Wellbeing Industry by
Disrupting White Mindfulness offers a timely commentary on the dominant narratives that shape the mindfulness industry - whiteness, postracialism and neoliberalism. Its positioning as 'apolitical' forges institutions that fit comfortably into increasingly divided societies. The race-gender profile of these institutions reveals a White, middle-class profile of decision-makers, educators and staff that is mirrored in its audiences. Mechanisms that recycle the industry's whiteness include corporatist pedagogies, edicts of authority, disengagement with difference and inappropriate uses of mindfulness that distance People of the Global Majority. A growing emergent movement focused on a justice-infused mindfulness and liberatory wellbeing decolonises mindfulness and de-centres whiteness. Its premise in indigenous, global South, queer knowledges leverages difference to produce multiple solutions focused on liberation. There is room for White Mindfulness to change.
Doing Research in Psychological Therapies: A Step-by-Step Guide by
This comprehensive and highly practical 'how to' book guides researchers from start to finish through the research process. The easy-to-follow consecutive steps cover: basic academic skills, literature reviews, research aims, selection of quantitative, qualitative or mixed methods, research and ethics proposals, data collection and analysis, and final thesis or report. Supported by decision-making flowcharts, further reading, reflective questions, state-of-the-art trends and templates, this book ensures you produce a sound and coherent research project that fulfils your training and publication requirements. It is the go-to guide for beginning and advanced researchers in counselling, psychotherapy, counselling and clinical psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines.
The Handbook of Social Justice in Psychological Therapies by
This three-part book sets out the core principles for social justice in the psychological therapies. In Part 1 you′ll be introduced to Social Justice Theory in the psychological therapies, covering identity and intersectionality and integrating the psychological and socio-political. In Part 2, you can expand on your knowledge with Social Justice informed therapeutic practice, which looks at the ways in which social class, race, disability, and other minoritised identities can inform therapeutic practice. In Part 3, you will look Beyond the therapyroom, and explore how to apply your social justice knowledge to clinical supervision, community psychology and other non-traditional therapeutic models. Supported by a wealth of features including reflective and critical thinking questions, case studies, and recommended further reading resources, this book will help equip you with the knowledge, skills and attitude to work as a more socially conscientious practitioner.
How the Brain Works: What Psychology Students Need to Know by
Delve into the intricacies of the human mind with this engaging and insightful guide to how the brain works. Written in a playful style and beautifully illustrated, this book is designed to support you as you embark on the beginning of your psychology degree. It provides an accessible guide to how the brain's structures and functions determine how the mind works, and how this fits into the bigger picture of our evolution and biology as a species. From focus boxes that delve into specific topics to entertaining puzzles that bring the subject to life, this book will captivate your imagination while building your understanding of biological and cognitive psychology. This is an essential read for undergraduate psychology students.
Ideological and Political Bias in Psychology: Nature, Scope, and Solutions by
This book examines the traditional assumptions made by academics and professionals alike that have embedded sociopolitical biases that impede practice. and undermine efforts to achieve an objective scientific status. If allowed to go unchallenged, the credibility of psychology as a discipline is compromised. This contributed volume thoroughly and comprehensively examines this concern in a conceptually and empirically rigorous manner and offers constructive solutions for minimizing undue political influences within the field of psychology. Societies in the 21st century desperately need reliable psychological science, but we don't have it. This important volume explains one of the main reasons why we are making little progress on any issue that gets contaminated by the left-right culture war: because the field of psychology is an enthusiastic member of one of the two teams, so it rejects findings and researchers who question its ideological commitments. The authors of this engaging volume also show us the way out. They diagnose the social dynamics of bias and point to reforms that would give us the psychology that we need to address 21st century problems. Jonathan Haidt, Thomas Cooley Professor of Ethical Leadership, NYU--Stern School of Business and author of The Righteous Mind The boundaries of free speech, censorship, moral cultures, social justice, and ideological biases are among the many incendiary topics discussed in this book. If you are looking for a deep-dive into real-world contemporary controversies, Ideological and Political Bias in Psychology fits the bill. The chapters are thoughtful and thought-provoking. Most readers will find something to agree with and something to rage at in almost every chapter. It just may change how you think about some of these topics. Diane F. Halpern, Professor of Psychology Emerita, Claremont McKenna College and Past President, American Psychological Association Unless the political left is always correct about everything (in which case, we wouldn't need to do research; we could just ask a leftist), the growing political monoculture of social science is a major barrier to our search for the truth. This volume shows how ideological bias should be treated as a source of research error, up there with classic methodological flaws like non-random assignment and non-blind measurement. Steven Pinker, Johnstone Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, and the author of Rationality An important read for academics curious about how their politics fashions beliefs that too often are uncritically taken for granted, and for non-academics wondering why we can't shake off the politics that so influences scientific work. Vernon Smith, Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences and George L. Argyros Chair in Finance and Economics, Chapman University Advances and deepens empirically rigorous scholarship into biased political influences affecting academic and professional psychology. Offers constructive solutions for minimizing undue political influences within psychology and moving the field forward. Serves as a resource for psychological academicians, researchers, practitioners, and consultants seeking to restore the principles of accurate science and effective practice to their respective areas of research.
Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical and Counseling Psychology, 2024-25 Edition by
The definitive guide for prospective graduate students in clinical and counseling psychology has now been updated for 2024/2025, with expert advice and profiles on 320 doctoral programs. This is the book you can rely on to find the programs that meet your needs and maximize your chances of getting in. Profiles cover each program's specializations or tracks, admission requirements, acceptance rates, financial aid, research areas, and clinical opportunities. The 2024/2025 edition discusses current developments in admissions, including the increase in GRE-optional programs and how to navigate choices around testing.
LGBTQ+ Affirmative Psychological Interventions: A Latine/x Perspective by
This book presents descriptions of interventions, results of empirical research, and theoretical contributions developed by Latine/x psychologists based on affirmative approaches aimed at promoting acceptance and understanding of LGBTIQ+ people. Contributions in this volume bring together the work of Latine/x scholars, practitioners, and activists across five Latin American countries or territories (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Puerto Rico) and in the United States, in an effort to provide multicultural perspectives to LGBTIQ+ affirmative psychological interventions that highlight local, regional and national particularities. Chapters in this volume go beyond contributions made by applied psychology fields (e.g., clinical and counselling psychology), where affirmative orientations are predominantly located, and include contributions from other fields of psychological research such as social and community psychology. The book is divided in two parts. Chapters in the first part focus on the experiences of trans and gender non-conforming people, with emphasis on contemporary systemic issues that affect gender identity among Latine/x communities and those who do not conform to hegemonic narratives about gender. Chapters in the second part focus on sexual identity among Latine/x LGBTIQ+ people and their families and communities. Contributions in this part present discussions about sexual orientation (grouped in LG/LGB identities), sex and gender dissidence, and the inclusion of intersex. LGBTQ+ Affirmative Psychological Interventions: A Latine/x Perspective will be of interest to both researchers and practitioners in different fields of psychology - such as clinical, counselling, social, and community psychology - interested in a multicultural perspective to understand and develop LGBTQ+ affirmative actions to fight against the repathologization of individuals, groups, families and diverse communities.
Mental Health, Racism, and Contemporary Challenges of Being Black in America by
Collected in a single volume for the first time, the writings in this novel anthology represent more than four decades of perspectives from the American Psychiatric Association's Solomon Carter Fuller Award lectures, named for the first Black psychiatrist in the United States. The chapter authors--Solomon Carter Fuller awardees themselves, psychiatrists building on the work of previous awardees, and other scholar experts--offer a multidisciplinary, cross-sectional examination of both the historical and contemporary environments that inform the Black experience in the United States.These treatises look at the intersection of mental health with topics that include the following: * Public health and public policy* Health care inequities* Racism* Economic well-being* Media* Education Emphasizing the real challenges that Black communities have faced and continue to face, each chapter also offers reasons for perseverance in the face of adversity.Readers will come away with a better understanding of the complexity of the Black experience in America and its impact on mental health, as well as a greater awareness of and appreciation for the legacy and ongoing contributions of Black psychiatric leaders to the field.
Motivation Science: Controversies and Insights by
When, why, and how are people motivated? This is the essential question that motivation science has sought to address since the field's inception, and yet motivation scientists have offered many contrasting and even conflicting perspectives that have stalled key conversations in the research. This volume captures the nature of these critical debates, while also moving the field towards greater coherence by bringing differing perspectives from experts together in one volume. Posing 10 fundamental questions to 57 prominent motivation researchers around the globe, Motivation Science: Controversies and Insights covers topics such as the nature of motivation, cultural differences in motivational processes, evidence-based strategies to enhance motivation, and predictions for the future of the field. Edited by three leaders in motivation science, this volume provides readers with a rare opportunity to see how different theorists and researchers recognize, evaluate, and prescribe solutions to the same motivation problem. By sharing current thinking and providing innovative insights into the important questions and controversies in the study of motivation, the book brings together cutting-edge theory and research that readers can use to generate fresh and effective applications and interventions.
The Oxford Handbook of Obsessive-Compulsive and Related Disorders by
With the publication of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM-5), much has changed about the conceptualization of obsessive-compulsive disorder and its associated spectrum conditions. Breaking free from the previous category of anxiety disorders, a new diagnostic category of "obsessive-compulsive and related disorders" (ORCDs) has emerged. This new categorization has provided an opportunity to enhance our understanding of these unique disorders and to address new research questions. The second edition of The Oxford Handbook of Obsessive-Compulsive and Related Disorders presents the latest information, from leaders in the field about the epidemiology, phenomenology, assessment, and treatment of ORCDs. The volume begins by reviewing the prevalence and profiles of obsessive-compulsive disorder, body dysmorphic disorder, hoarding disorder, trichotillomania (hair-pulling disorder), and excoriation (skin-picking) disorder. Chapter authors then discuss modern conceptualizations of the OCRDs, including neurocircuitry, genetic, behavioral, and cognitive models. From here, assessment strategies are reviewed, followed by state-of-the-science biological and psychological treatments, including pharmacotherapy, neurosurgical strategies, behavioral therapies, and cognitive therapies. Finally, the volume examines the presentation and treatment of OCRDs across cultures as well as in special populations including children and older adults.
The Oxford Handbook of Self-Determination Theory by
Self-Determination Theory (SDT) is a broad theory of psychological growth and wellness that has revolutionized how we think about human motivation. SDT has been the basis for new and more effective practices in parenting, education, business, sport, healthcare, and other areas of lifefostering higher-quality motivation, engagement, connection, and wellness.Drawing on over four decades of evidence-based research and application, this handbook delivers a truly integrative volume with 57 chapters by the top researchers and experts within the field of SDT. Edited by an SDT cofounder, this handbook traces the theory's historical and scientific foundationsand synthesizes the latest research and insights on human motivation, covering topics from the social and biological underpinnings of motivation and wellness to practical applications in all aspects of life.The Oxford Handbook of Self-Determination Theory is an invaluable resource for researchers, practitioners, and students interested in practical research and guidance on the study of human nature.
Personality Disorders: A Short History of Narcissistic, Borderline, Antisocial, and Other Types by
The fascinating and controversial history of personality disorders. The concept of personality disorders rose to prominence in the early twentieth century and has consistently caused controversy among psychiatrists, psychologists, and social scientists. In Personality Disorders, Allan V. Horwitz traces the evolution of defining these disorders and the historical dilemmas of attempting to mold them into traditional medical conceptions of disorder. Using the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM, as a guide, Horwitz explores the group of conditions that make up personality disorders and considers when they have been tied to or separated from other types of mental illnesses. He also examines how these disorders have often entailed negative moral and cultural evaluations more focused on perceived social deviance than on actual medical conditions. Deep conflicts exist in a variety of disciplines in determining the nature of these disorders. During the twentieth century, a particularly sharp division arose between researchers who study personality disorders and the clinicians who treat them. Because researchers strive to develop general laws and clinicians attempt to understand individuals' specific problems, their values, methods, and goals often conflict. Synthesizing historical and contemporary scholarship, Horwitz examines controversies over the definitions and diagnoses of personality disorders and how the perception of these illnesses has changed over time.
Promoting Black Women's Mental Health: What Practitioners Should Know and Do by
Promoting Black Women's Mental Health celebrates the strengths and complexities of Black women in American life. Many misunderstand and mischaracterize Black women and underappreciate their important contributions to families, communities, and the nation. In this book, a team of Black women mental health practitioners and scholars discuss a range of conditions that impact Black women's self-concepts and mental health. Drawing on a study of Black women across the United States, authors explore the social determinants of Black women's mental health and wellness and Black women's girlhood experiences. The book also explores Black women's stereotypes, their traumas, how they shift in relationships, and images that affect their racial and gender identity development. The book draws on scholarly and popular sources to present Black women's strength and challenges. Authors include commentary, case examples, reflection questions, and resources to improve practitioners' capacities to help Black women clients to recover, heal, and thrive.
Psychotherapy Skills and Methods That Work by
While we know that psychotherapy works, there is hearty debate about what makes it work. In the past, rival arguments have maintained that psychotherapy proves effective because of the treatment approach, patient contributions, or the therapeutic relationship. Psychotherapy Skills and Methods That Work argues that clinical skills and methods also play a crucial role and that what therapists do has major consequences for improving practice. Psychotherapy Skills and Methods That Work is the result of a multiyear, interorganizational Task Force commissioned to identify, compile, and disseminate the research evidence and clinical practices on psychotherapist skills and methods used across theoretical orientations. Edited by renowned scholars Clara E. Hill and John C. Norcross, this book provides original research reviews on the effectiveness of 27 specific psychotherapy skills and methods, including affirmation, self-disclosure, role induction, between-session homework, empathic reflections, mindfulness and acceptance, emotion regulation, and cognitive restructuring. Each chapter on a therapy skill or method features clinical examples, diversity considerations, training implications, and bulleted therapeutic practices, while the final chapter summarizes the research evidence for the effectiveness of these skills/methods and emphasizes implications for clinical training and practice. Forcefully demonstrating what therapists do to help clients change and live more effective lives, Psychotherapy Skills and Methods That Work will serve as a go-to guide for psychotherapy practitioners of all persuasions and professions, as well as graduate students and psychotherapy researchers.
The Science of Sadness: A New Understanding of Emotion by
An accessible, scientific account of grief, melancholy, and nostalgia in human life and their broader lessons for understanding emotions in general. The Science of Sadness proposes an original scientific account of grief, melancholy, and nostalgia, advocating a unique ethological approach to these familiar, woeful emotions. One of the leading scholars in the psychology of music and music cognition, David Huron draws on hundreds of studies from physiology, medicine, neuroscience, psychology, anthropology, and the arts to resolve long-standing problems that have stymied modern emotion research. A careful examination of sadness-related behaviors reveals their biological and social functions, which Huron uses to formulate a new theory about how emotions in general are displayed and interpreted. We've all shed tears of joy, tears of grief, tears of pain. While different emotions often share the same weepy display, Huron identifies the single function that unites them. He suggests how weeping emerged over the course of human evolution, explores the contrasting cultural manifestations of sadness, and chronicles humanity's changing interpretations of sadness over time. Huron also explains the various ways cultures recruit and reshape involuntary emotional displays for different social purposes, and he offers a compelling narrative of what makes tragic arts so appealing. Though sadness is typically regarded as the very antithesis of happiness, The Science of Sadness draws attention to the important roles that grief, melancholy, and nostalgia play in human well-being.