Occasionally tests appear on the web, if the author is willing to share them. Search by title or author, if you know where the person works. For assistance locating tests, request a research consultation with me using the contact information on the first page of this guide.
Test construction, validity, bias, alternative assessment, computerized testing, graduation requirements, etc., are often discussed in books and articles.
BOOKS
The following subject headings and call numbers may be helpful, but more specific subtopics of testing may have other call numbers. Use Subject, Keyword, Boolean, or Advanced searching in DiscoverUR or ask for help at the Rush Rhees Q&I Desk.
Educational Tests and Measurements: LB 1131, LB 2822, LB 2823, LB 3051
Intelligence Tests: BF 431
Personality Tests: BF 698.4
Psychological Tests: BF 176
Psychological Tests for Children: BF 722
Psychometrics: BF 39
SELECTED HANDBOOKS
Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 4th ed. Gerald Goldstein, Daniel N. Allen, and John Deluca, eds. Elsevier, 2019. E-book.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 6th ed. Gary Groth-Marnat and A. Jordan Wright, eds. Wiley, 2016. Rhees Stacks BF176 .G76 2016 (also available as e-book).
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children. 3rd ed. Bernard Spodek and Olivia N. Saracho, eds. Rhees Stacks LB1119 .H25 2013 (also available as e-book).
Handbook of Personality Assessment. 2nd ed. Irving B. Weiner and Roger L. Green, eds. 2017. E-book.
Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing.
Ref. LB 3051 .S72 1999 Joint Committee on Testing Practices (American Educational Research Assn., American sychological Assn., and National Council on Measurement in Education)
Code of Fair Testing Practices in Education.
Earlier edition in Ref. LB 3051 .C62
Brief version of Standards (above) designed for school personnel who select or interpret tests. Permission granted to copy for non-profit purposes.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
This revision of the highly acclaimed and most widely used resource on psychological assessment features thorough coverage of the principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning and report writing. Material is presented in a practical, skills-based manner (e.g. how to integrate test data into treatment plans and writing psychological reports) and offers coverage of the most widely used assessment instruments (including the newly revised WAIS-IV and WISC-IV, as well as the Wechsler Memory Scales-IV, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, Neuropsychological screening, Behavioral, CPI, MCMI-III, MMPI-2/MMPI-A). This valuable reference provides clinical psychologists, therapists, school psychologists, and counselors with step-by-step, expert guidance on how to conduct a comprehensive psychological evaluation. Thoroughly updated with increased emphasis on diversity as well as chapters on client feedback and consultation, this bestselling handbook is a must-have reference for academics, professionals, and libraries.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by
One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced. This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptions and reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them. This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business by