LibGuides: * Psychology: Library Sessions

PM 430: Psychology in Health Services Research

Recommended Databases & DiscoverUR

**A note about APA PsycINFO: I've included links to this database from two providers: ProQuest and Ovid. The content is the same in each. The user interface and search tools are different. Ovid is more commonly used at the Medical Center, whereas many folks on the River Campus use ProQuest.**

APA PsycINFO via ProQuest
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
APA PsycINFO via OVID
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text.
PubMed
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.

Miner Library
DiscoverUR and various databases are available on Miner Library's website.

Librarian's Follow-up Video & Slides

Follow-up Video: Useful Databases for PM 430
This short video provides an overview of the databases we discussed in class. Passcode (if needed): 8Q+LD*z7
Librarian's Slides from August 29 Class
Librarian Andrea Kingston's slides from the August 29, 2025 class session.

Additional Search Tips

ProQuest Search Tips
Tips that will come in handy when searching APA PsycINFO via ProQuest.
PubMed User Guide
FAQs and search tips.
Scopus Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
This PDF includes article search tips on p. 3.
DiscoverUR Tips
Tips from Miner Library on how to use DiscoverUR quickly and easily.
Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL)
Need an item that we don’t have? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need.

Connecting Google Scholar to UR Libraries (PDF)
Step-by-step instructions for adding the University of Rochester to Google Scholar's Library Links.

Anatomy of an Empirical Research Article

Image Source: Pixabay