Skip to Main Content

Open Access Support at UR

Provides information to UR-affiliated authors on open access publishing options at the university.

Elsevier (consortial agreement through NERL)

  • Publisher website:
  • Academic consortia: 13 institutions members of NorthEast Research Libraries (NERL): Boston University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth, Georgetown University, Johns Hopkins University, New York University, Syracuse University, University of Miami, University of Notre Dame, University of Pennsylvania, University of Rochester, and Yale University.
  • Journals: All Elsevier journals on ScienceDirect.
  • Criteria for participation: UR-affiliated corresponding authors with articles published in Elsevier journals between 1984 and 2000.
  • Description: Retroactive Open Access Pilot: subscription to current Elsevier content is paired with a retroactive open access program. In each year of the three-year agreement, five years of content authored by researchers based at participating NERL institutions is converted from subscription-only access to open access. University-wide agreement.
    • The specific dates of the backflip coverage for each year are: 
      • Contract Year 2022 – Eligible Articles from 1994 to 1998
      • Contract Year 2023 – Eligible Articles from 1990 to 1993 and 1999
      • Contract Year 2024 – Eligible Articles from 1986 to 1989 and 2000
  • Guidance for authors: 
    • Elsevier maintains the Copyright of the retroactively opened articles.
    • Retroactively opened articles will carry a non-revocable CC-BY-NC-ND license. 
    • Authors can opt-out of opening their articles. Those requests should be directed to Lana Wear <>, Senior Customer Success & Growth Leader at Elsevier.
  • Period: 3 years; 2022-2024.